Importing China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 2nd 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am so glad to hear that I can indeed drink yoghurt in the United States, I had begun to think about some way that I could bring some back with me. There are a lot of cool things here in China that I think would be neat to bring back home with me, such as corn ice cream, grape ice cream, efficient public transportation systems, Wu Marts, dancing in the park, old people's playgrounds, cheap prices, high levels of technology, eggplant dishes galore, and street vendors' breakfasts.

Even though our dorm is not at the center of the city, we are actually on the 3rd ring road, everything is still very convenient. I can walk to three different department stores without much trouble and there are many convenience stores inbetween, and of course there are always street vendors to be found with their greasy treats. The only thing I had to get used to is that while these things are very close and convenient during the day, they are not open until 8:30am and close around 9:30pm, no 24/7/365 here. I would like to see the WalMart in Beijing to see if it is the same, but I think the small "department stores" are exciting with their fish swimming in tanks, eggs piled up high, and raw cut meat just sitting out to be picked through by prospective customers. I also like how you can pick and choose which bananas you want to buy, even if they are all from different bunches. Maybe you can do this at home too, but I was always under the impression that you were just supposed to take the bunch as is, not break them apart and make your own bunch. The method they use here probably is not very good for the quality of the bananas because they get bruised after being picked over by everyone. The fresh bread and pastries are good too, as they rarely sell any plain bread but rather bake stuff into the bread. The bread is usually a sweet white bread then has different things such as onions, raisins, lemon, or meat cooked into it or brushed onto the crust. The meat that they put in this one kind of bread doesn't even look like meat, but I think it is dried pork. It looks like mold, in the sense that it has a hairy texture. It is hard to describe, maybe you should come and see it for yourself 😊

Advertisement



2nd August 2006

You can leave the corn ice cream in Beijing!!! :0( How's the writing of Chinese symbols coming along? It sounded more like painting than writing......have you picked it up yet?
2nd August 2006

Ice Cream
Tekla, do you have an obsession with ice cream? :)
2nd August 2006

no way
I would certainly pass on the bread that has what looks like mold and a hairy texture and try another one!
4th August 2006

Beijing is in China, not in India!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb