Mega Transport Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 5th 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

He's landedHe's landedHe's landed

Martin's plane has arrived
Sitting in my salubrious hotel, I'm waiting to go back to Beijing Capital airport Terminal 2 at midnight, powered by a Starbucks coffee at 7pm (wheeeeee). Filling in the time with writing a note on my neglected IPad, courtesy of the free wifi.
There were other options available to entertain myself with, a very lovely young lady, whose photo appears on a business card slipped under my door (she must be very hot as she is wearing very little) could be offering something!
Needless to say the door is double bolted, this was the lower end of the price range of hotels at the airport, but it has a western bed, towels that are clean, king bed and toilet paper in the ensuite, what more could you want.

Today was mega transport day. Bus ride back from Eastcampus Jinan to town campus was super speedy, grabbed my bag, walked to front gate and JiShan Lu and could not get a cab for what seemed ages but was probably only 5 minutes.
Jinan station next stop and the D338 to Beijing. Very efficient station, excellent waiting rooms well signed in English with announcements also in English. Took just over 2 hours,
And here he comesAnd here he comesAnd here he comes

5 degrees, I'm dressed like a snow bunny and he arrives wearing a TShirt!
top speed 307kms and this is not the fast train.
They are ones starting with G.

Arrived at Beijing Nan (south)train station and the task now is to get to the airport and then motel.
Beijing Nan station is huge, with a link to the subway.
Lots of signs in English to help if needed.
Lined up at the ticket office to get an all day subway ride card for ¥2.

The subway has easily understood maps of the train stops at each line, which direction the train is taking, thus making it easy to choose the left or right side of the line.
Take line 4 and change to line 2 at Xuanwumen. This is only 3 stops.
Line 2 does a loop so it really doesn't matter what side of the platform you take, it but you get off at Dongzhimen.

Then it's follow the signs for the airport express,pay ¥25 and either get off at Terminal 1 for domestic or Terminal 2 for International.

Taxi ranks are controlled by marshals and super efficient. Had my note all written in Chinese as to where I was going and as soon as I handed it to the driver he was muttering and saying no no. I presumed he was angry about the smalll fare he was about to get as it was supposedly only a 5minute ride. 30 minutes, numerous looks at the address, stopping and asking for directions,we got here and he knocked off money off the meter without asking. He was lovely and welcomed me to Beijing in English and asked where I was from.

Advertisement



6th November 2012

moving companies las vegas nevada
I appreciated your professional way of writing this post thanks; you have made such a nice blog. I found in your website perfect for my needs it contains wonderful and helpful posts. cheap movers in las vegas
6th November 2012

Thankyou, i enjoy reliving my travels through the blogs and if i can be detailed enough to help others all the better

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb