Productivity high


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I feel like I have accomplished much today, however that makes for a kind of bland day for you as my readers. I didn't do anything overly exciting, but I did get my laundry done, went to the post office, attended class, and got groceries all today. While I realize my mom does these things everyday, I like to think that it takes much more energy here😉 Just mailing a letter or trying to figure out what things are in the grocery store gives you a headache. I went to the post office with Diana this morning to mail out some postcards. It was interesting because the post office people had to put the address into characters on Diana's packages before they could be sent, but it was questionable whether they really knew what country to which she was sending them. Diana thought they had put different characters on the last package she had mailed to the UK. I personally think it will end up in the Ukraine or something. Then in the afternoon we went to the supermarket to get some groceries. At first it was fun just going to the different grocery stores and getting random things to try. But now it is nice to go in and find something that you know tastes good and is not a gamble on whether you will like it or not. The one thing I have been amazed with is the pastry selection. I have never thought of China as a place to get nice pastries, but in every grocery store they have a bakery that has flaky pastries, different kinds of breads, and beautifully decorated cakes. The weird thing is that I have only had dessert once the whole time I've been here. I think that is why I have been eating so much ice cream, because at the end of the day my mouth wants something sweet to finish its day off. The one dessert I did have was a fried corn cake with honey. It was good, but still was a vegetable and not something sinful to eat.

In class we familiarized ourselves with the different province locations and listened to the folk songs from each. The music varied so much. Some of it used different flute like instruments, others were pastoral sounding, and one even sounded like it was from an Italian opera.

In response to Lisa's question, I'm not really sure what happens to an extra baby. I tried to ask my Chinese friends yesterday while we were on the subject, but I never want to press too hard on such subjects because I know they are probably sensitive topics and I don't want to upset anyone. I did ask if it was true that parents would kill their baby if it was a girl, so that they could still have an opportunity to have a boy. Their response was that that was something they did years ago. It is very difficult to know the true story, because I think both of our governments tend to distort the truth one way or the other.

Advertisement



11th July 2006

hellow i am chinese ,now live in japan .very glad to read your story

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb