Been here a few days now...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

and it is a very amazing city. I have almost recovered from the jetlag, had 6 or 7 hours of sleep yesterday, compared with the 4 and 5 the previous days. arriving turned out to be a piece of cake, hardest part was getting luggage, quite the wait for that. My host was waiting for me at the airport as arranged, so all was smooth. Had a chinese dinner the first night, there is a lady that works her at the hostel and cooks every morning and evening. The word hostel I use quite loose, it is actually a 3 brm apt and I am renting one room. It is very interesting to be living in a residential district instead of a city center. The next day I checked out the forbidden city and T square. The city reminded me a lot of Versailles, so huge and grand. The square was the same as well. Had many young people approach me to look at their art, it will only take 2 minutes!!! Had to get a foot rub at the end of that day as I was walking in my sandles and pretty much killed myself. The next day I was introduced to some Koreans from Toronto and shared a vehicle to see a dam that is 2 hours from the city. It was an interesting trip to say the least. To help pay for the dam, they created a mini-resort around the place...so boat tours, cable car rides, and the most surreal experience, a nature walk in the side of a mountain, loaded with fake flowers and stuffed animals, to get art imitating real life so to speak. The sun has been out all days, but only today could it be seen, a little smoggy most days. Today was a quiet one, spent at a golf driving range (had to when I saw it) and a Buddist temple (the lama temple, with the largest 18m wood Budda on the earth).

Advertisement



27th June 2006

good blog
Awesome entry!!!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb