Beijing, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We made it. Seven thousand miles, twelve hours difference in time, fourteen hours flight time, four in flight movies, two flight meals and two snacks, many laps around the plane during the flight, but we are here safe and happy.

Just returned from an authentic chinese meal that included seven types of dumplings, and food served on a large lazy susan in the middle of the table. It was very good but my chopstick use definitely needs improving.

I had a few people from our group write down some of their first thoughts from our first few hours in China's capital.

* A couple of people were impressed with the quietness, especially at the huge airport. There were people everywhere and you would have expected it to have been much louder, but it was very quiet.

*Someone else described it as busy, big, orderly and safe.

*Someone else described it as typical of any city they had been too.

*The people are gracious and happy. They enjoy each other, they talk and laugh. They are industrious.

*The traffic and smog! It was much more like a big city then what I had envisioned.

*Cosmopolitan city, highly modern, lots of people riding bicycles.

*I'm in China! China is alive and bustling but not the craze that I thought I would find. It's surreal to be here halfway across the world.!

And for me....first impressions were

* I can hardly believe I am here and able to communicate with you.

*How many bicylcles there are and the traffic.

* Food was very good and the people are gracious.

* Smog....smog...I don't think I have every really seen smog.

Well...I am going to call it a night. We are going to meet at 8 in the morning to visit the Great Wall, and the Forbidden City.

Bambi



Advertisement



20th June 2006

Glad You Made It Safely
Hey - Glad to hear you made it safely. Thanks for sharing the initial impressions - they're very interesting!
20th June 2006

Success!
Bambi Glad to see that you made it safe and sound. Sounds like a wonderful experience so far. I will let everyone know that you are doing fine Write when you get work.. Just kidding Bruce
20th June 2006

Beijing
If you happen across a music store or any other store of that ilk, will you look and see if the Chinese have a labeling system denoting lyrics, etc similar or disimilar to ours? Have fun at the Great Wall! We want to see pictures! Tell Ms. Barnes "Hello" for me! Chip
20th June 2006

glad you arrived safe
Some interesting comments...It sounds like the food was great. I am suprised about the smog..I guess you never spent time in L.A. I am excited for your trip to the Great Wall and forbidden city..Pictures please.
21st June 2006

How exciting
How exciting to particpate in such an adventure. I can not wait to read your next entry. Charlene
21st June 2006

Day 1
I understand the plane had to circle Beijing for an hour so some people could finish watching the last in flight movie. Lol Did you have collards with the seven types of dumplings? Please remember to take plenty of pictures so the rest of us can see some of the sites. Enjoy and blog soon, Allen
21st June 2006

Glad you made it.
I am glad that you made it safely. I really hope that this trip is everything you anticipated to to be. The dumplings sound good. I have always had the desire to sample all international foods. Have a safe and memorable vaction. Diane Jones
21st June 2006

What a difference from NC?!
Hi Bambi, I am so glad Allen has shared your blogs with us. Unless you have traveled the world you just can not appreciate what we have in the US. Growing up we lived in so many countries (never made it to China) and when you come right down to it they are humans with wants and needs just like us - it's the governments that are different. Have a wonderful time, enjoy every minute - a chance of a life time. One of our friends in FL just got back from a 30 day trip, China, Thialand, etc. Sounds like you will wear out your walking shoes before you get home. Take care, love you, Ruth
21st June 2006

Glad you're safely there
I'm so glad to hear you arrived safely and I am excited for this adventure. What's the weather like there this time of year?
21st June 2006

Wow, China!
Mrs. Edwards, Glad to hear you made it safe an sound. China sounds like an awesome plalce. I am jealous! From your other blog it sounds like everyone does a lot of eating. Sounds like my kind of place. Can't wait to see pictures of the Forbidden City. Take Care.
22nd June 2006

Happy Days!
Glad you are safe. Enjoying your news. Keep it coming. JHE

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0898s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb