The Food Entry You've All Been Waiting For


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

It's time for another episode of....."what's that food?" To be fair, I have actually not really had anything particularly shocking. The food has been great, and save for a couple of chopstick nugget episodes (repeated again tonight), nothing particularly weird has been forced upon my plate. That being said, last night I SAW weird things. Does that count? Well, whether or not it does or not, I of course snapped pictures for the world to see...so for our purposes I guess it does count. So let's take a look:

Yesterday I spent the day with an American teacher who has been teaching English at the school at which I will be doing the same. A native of the Baltimore area, we met a friend of hers who, surprise surprise, has also been teaching English at another establishment. We went to a Middle Eastern place and enjoyed some fine dishes. I guess this is a frequent haunt of theirs because we hadn't even been sitting 5 minutes when 4 of their friends walked in. All American all...yes...teaching English in some capacity. Well, we got several dishes...and in the end..total bill...just over two dollars. This was beaten today when,
The Night MarketThe Night MarketThe Night Market

Mmmm....snakes and beetles
today, five of us got 2 dumpling dishes, a tofu dish, and what we have now deemed "The Potato Latke Dish"...total bill...just over a dollar.

Anyway...back to the weird food. I was returning from my day with Americans my own age when I walked past the nightime street stalls near Wangfujing. A throwback to old Beijing, this street food area has been set up for sellers to sell various food wares to tourists and and natives alike. Its kind of quincy market food court-esque....but outside. Some of the food looked simply magniificent. Dumplings, noodles, fruit on a stick...mmmmmm. Other foods, well.....not to judge but....let's just say it wasn't my cup of tea. Included in the items I saw were snakes on a stick, beetles, starfish...and stuff that could not be identified. Take a look at the pictures:

Tomorrow's agenda is going to an expat pub at 7 in the morning to watch the Superbowl. While the excitement is slightly decreased, watching the game in another country should be a great time. Yes, it is very early...and its "Superbowl Monday" here I guess. Sorry all of you gamblers out there, despite that its Monday I can't tell you who won. Well...I could but....well....I've said too much already.

Until Next Time,
Brett


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

At the Art GalleryAt the Art Gallery
At the Art Gallery

Hanging Out With The Art!


6th February 2006

Meat on a Stick MMMM!
19th February 2006

scrumptious!
Sorry, Brett, but I am afraid I have to correct you. Those are not beetles. That would be quite yucky, wouldn't it? Judging from the photo you took, those are maggots. Ya see? Nothing to be afraid of. Dig in! :-)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb