Tasty Feet in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I safely arrived in Beijing and have spent the last two days with my friend Qiuhang from high school. Qiuhang is now the general manager of major property development company in Beijing. This private company also owns two 5 star resorts in Beijing and as a result I am his guest at the LongXi Hot Spring Resort.

It is beautiful resort complete with a 27-hole golf course. I was dumfounded by the club fee which starts from about $30,000 at a basic level through to $150,000 for something prestigious. It just goes to show the great difference there is in incomes between the rich and poor in China

The resort has 50 different pools with minerals both indoors and outdoors which Qiuhang guided me around. For a new experience, it doesn't get stranger than to get in a pool and be eaten by thousands of baby fish. Oh, so you don't believe me on this one? The photo is proof. Apparently they eat away all your dead skin, I now can claim my stinky feet are the most tender and smooth in the world. After much twisting and turning, laughing and making funny faces, I finally contain myself from the tickles, calm down and enjoy the strange sensation of being eaten by live fish, needless to say I survived and got out of the pool while I still had some meat left on my bones. 😊

While list enjoying a great time in Beijing I am feeling quite guilty, after all this is not what I expected, for that matter anybody else expected for an earthquake relief charity mission.
I console myself in the knowledge by Monday I will be in the middle of the earthquake disaster zone helping the villagers, leaving this luxury behind as distant memory.

My flight is booked to arrive in Chengdu on Monday, my parents will pick me up from the airport and I am heading to the country house straight away. Hopefully I will have internet access and update you all about the situation there.


Bob
Thanks to friends and families who have donated generously,
Current balance of the fund: Aud$3,350 or $22,110 Yuan
Amount spent so far: $0
For donation details please refer to Day 1’s blog.
Please subscribe to the blog to receive the latest updates.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb