The Great Wall & Forbidden City


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 1st 2005
Published: August 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Great WallGreat WallGreat Wall

Trying to capture the steepness of the wall and the sheer size.
How Fantastic! Beautiful weather, 85 degrees and the sky in Beijing was actually visible. Armed with camera and water Jon, Leah, and I split up from our group so we could cover more ground. I’ve read about how so many people comment on the walls steepness, but I wrote them off thinking they were just out of shape or inactive, but believe me some steps could be three regular steps. I had to maybe too good of a time on the wall for being a sweaty, smelly American. We made it to the highest point on our section of the wall in about an hour, but I think it could have taken more than two hours since we thought running up some parts would make for a good time. Being the hyperactive kids we are we scaled the wall by running many of the safer portions where either the slope wasn’t as bad or the steps were in better condition. Good time and even better views!!! The mountains in China are so different that any mountains I’ve ever seen. They go up, down, all around with out any sort of formation snaking through the hills. I am surprised how green the
Me & JonMe & JonMe & Jon

Way too excited about getting a chance to go for a little hike up the wall!
land is here too since it is so hot and humid all the time. I concluded our wall exercise by purchasing the essential Mao shirt proclaiming “Saved the People” on the front. Then we were off to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City.

A place like the Forbidden City is best enjoyed by picturing yourself in the 1400s when this massive place was built. Being that long ago, the scale to which it was built, and the fact that it was built for one person, makes the Forbidden City out of this world.

It’s amazing how much food one can eat here and for how cheap this is accomplished. I am now such a fan of community dishes held at tables with spinning tops. The eel here has been by far my favorite dish as well as the most surprising. The food is so fresh and so delicious, you’d all love it! Our fish was brought to us in a net before it would be cooked to prove the freshness. Other notable dishes include eggplant, any kind of dumpling, and of course Peking duck is pretty decent. Chinese beer has been nothing to shake a stick at mostly
Rolling Green MountainsRolling Green MountainsRolling Green Mountains

I never get enough of these sights.
because it tastes so watered down, but as always, cheap anything is good.

I wish I had more time to experience all that Beijing has to offer. It’s been a fantastic two days here. Beijing was so exotic and so enjoyable. The Chinese people have been many times more kind that I expected them to be. I must have been reading in the wrong places! So long Beijing see you again in two months!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Our DestinationOur Destination
Our Destination

the deception of distance.
Leah, Erika, JonLeah, Erika, Jon
Leah, Erika, Jon

Taking a breath at the first guard tower.
ContinuationContinuation
Continuation

Starting to sweat just a little bit...
We Made ItWe Made It
We Made It

Me at the highest point on our section of the wall!!!
Dumpling HeavenDumpling Heaven
Dumpling Heaven

You know you can't resist this goodness.
2008 Olympics2008 Olympics
2008 Olympics

I guess you can never be too prepared for an event.
JonJon
Jon

Rockin out in the Forbidden City.
Fan KidFan Kid
Fan Kid

Kid who managed to steal Annikas fan from her.


2nd August 2005

Wow!
I am so jealous at this moment! Your pictures are AMAZING! I can't believe you were actually there! Well, hopefully soon I'll have some cool pictures of my own... Japan, here we come!
18th May 2006

this is cool man!
this is a cool place that'd be amazing to go to both places some times when i am old enough!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb