Church, Small Group and Wudaokou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Thursdays I go to Wudaokou for my church small group, its in someones flat and there are about 15-20 people in it. Its so great I really enjoy going, we have worship, and then a bit of bible study and discussion and then we split up into groups to pray at the end, then go out for dinner afterwards.
Wudaokou is the Leeds equivilant of Headingley and has some cool shops, cafes and bars. One place, Lush, is open 24 hours a day and on Sunday evenings they have an Open Mic night which I love going to! A couple of friends from Leeds play in it most weeks, and they serve Western food-Ceasar salads and sandwiches-amazing simple food!
If I’m on my own, I’ll try to take public transport (as opposed to taxis) a bus anywhere will cost one kuai (6p) and then the Subway for 3 kuai.
I’m going to the Beijing International Christian Fellowship for church, to the 11am service, Its so international as no Chinese people are allowed to go due to government regulations, its made mostly up of Americans, there are only about 5 British people! They have about 3 different worship leaders each week, and so the songs vary a lot each week due to whoever is leading it at the time. Its cool now I know people there, a few of my friends will be leaving around Christmas time (a lot of people come to Beijing to study for one semester) So it should be interesting to see who comes in March for the second semester.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb