Working with the children


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » XiCheng District
July 24th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In the schoolIn the schoolIn the school

I just found this to be SOOO funny.
Its been a very long time since I last wrote, and lots and lots have happened since. First, during the last two weeks, I have taught two different classes.

First, I taught a class that consisted of rising third graders. This means they would be entering third grade in the fall. This was a challenge, the misunderstanding of the languages really was a challenge to overcome. The first day, we were just thrown into working, so we really didn't know how to teach or what we SHOULD be teaching. However, after the first day all of my fellow interns and myself got into a "rhythm". All of us started teaching, and playing games. It was amazing. I was very happy, and proud to see not only myself, but several other interns rise to the challenge of teaching students who didn't really speak the language, to understand minor things. I believe this was a major step in the right directions for the kids, and I really feel that we had a large impact in their lives. Well about my class... they were some great kids, i even found a "Chinese Mackenzee" here. I thought she acted and looked sort of like
TEACHER, TEACHER!TEACHER, TEACHER!TEACHER, TEACHER!

me teaching my class how to play a game.
my sister. Her name was Emma. Great kid, all of them were. Several of the kids said to me "I am very sorry to leave." one almost cried.


However, those fun times for me changed, when we met our next task. I am currently teaching a group of students that range from 9-15. I have a class (class 4) that is amazing, most of them speak very well, and are very willing to learn, and try more in class. They are, for the most part, much more advanced than many older individuals that I have encountered here. Then there is class 3. This group of students (some not all) does not want to talk, learn, read, or write. Now, i'm not trying to sound mean, but i mean... their parents paid lots of money for us to come teach them, and today 5 people in the whole class did their homework. It was very funny, yet very frustrating. I, honestly, from teaching this class (or trying to teach) have gained so much respect for my professors, and especially my German Professors.

Today we also went to summer palace. I took class four, naturally. It was a very
Group pictureGroup pictureGroup picture

My little kids
beautiful place, however, about 1 hour into the tour, it down poured. and i do not mean like "o its raining hard", I mean like "wow, i really think that I could be blown away and drown by how much water is on the ground." there went from no water to about 1 inch in approximately 30 min.

Other than that, i'm sick, and I am going to go to sleep now so that I can try to make it to class tomorrow.


Hope you all keep following me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

at the zooat the zoo
at the zoo

I've got a little Captain in me.
Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

outside gate, All the students and Teachers.


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb