National Day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
October 5th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Qian MenQian MenQian Men

The front to door to Tian an Men Square.
The first of October is Chinese National Day and I figured it would be the right time to check out Tian An'Men. Approximately half of China's population had an identical thought and as the pictures show it was crowded. I bought a little Chinese flag because it seemed like the thing to to do and I got lots of attention as I walked around. A lot of Chinese people took pictures with me using there own cameras and a few followed me around asking questions. They also took the pictures of me in front of various points of interest. It was a very interesting experience, the funniest part being when some a woman brought over her baby to get in the picture with me. I felt like a celebrity.

This weekend we are heading to the Great Wall so stay tuned, I'm told this is the best part of the wall in terms of having a mix of restored and un-restored wall as well as low tourism.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Agent of ChaosAgent of Chaos
Agent of Chaos

Now I can never be elected to public office.
Good ol' MaoGood ol' Mao
Good ol' Mao

This is the actual Tian An'Men. Gate of Heavenly Peace.
Parting ShotParting Shot
Parting Shot

This is about as close as I got to the gate, the crowds got really thick beyond this point.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb