Beijing - Crash Course


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ViewViewView

Areal view of the entrance to the forbidden city.

A crash course to Beijing



As I have told you before I had a transfer at Beijing Capital Airport on my way to Japan. The stop was seven hours so prior to my arrival I had arranged a visa.

The flight was early and I went straight for the immigration. The airport was build for the 2008 olympics and it's really an impressive sight. The immigration process went very smooth and I didn't have to use my visa for my entry this time since I was to return to the airport for a flight later that day.

After taking a high-tech train ride to the arrival hall I was able to take the airport express into the city. At that time it felt like I had done my daily work out already.

Travelling in Beijing with public transportation is really efficient. All the signs and information at the stations are in English. Even the voice which calls the next upcoming stations repeat the message in English.

After changing subway lines two times I found myself and the station Tianamen Square East. I was finally able to see the world famous square with all its sights.
SwedenSwedenSweden

One of the only colorful buildings in this huge city.

The first thing to catch my eyes was the entrance to the forbidden city with the famous portrait of Mao Zedong, behind me the huge Tianamen Square.

A young Chinese woman came up to me and told me that there was a big festival in Beijing that day. I could tell that by the huge crowds lining up for entering the forbidden city. What happened after is something that still puzzles me. I don't lie when I say that there also became a line for taking a photo with me. I have never felt so exotic, sorry Jonas. Both Chinese women and men took times with their cameras taking photos together with me. After approx 20 pictures I had to say it was enough, I had my own pictures to take!

I spent a good 1,5 hours walking around the square taking some photos and talking to people. By the monument for the the Chinese heroes I met a couple of Japanese tourists. I got the chance to try my Japanese out before coming to Japan!

I went back to the airport in good time for my flight. I had some well deserved lunch and did my
On guardOn guardOn guard

Guards showing their respect.
mug-shopping at the Beijing Starbucks before it was time to take the high-tech train back to the gate area and my flight to Osaka.

Beijing is really a cool place to visit. Since I only spent a couple of hours in the city I will definitely return for a longer visit in the future.

Take care,

//Kristian






Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Forbidden CityForbidden City
Forbidden City

I was not the only one who wanted to take pictures this day.
Mao ZedongMao Zedong
Mao Zedong

The Chinese people's modern father.
MeMe
Me

Me in front of the entrance to the forbidden city after a 10 hour flight. Don't judge me.
Exotic photo objectExotic photo object
Exotic photo object

Two of the Chinese girls standing in line to have there photo taken with me.
Mini gameMini game
Mini game

Which person of the three is the odd one out?
InformationInformation
Information

Tianamen Square directory.
More GuardsMore Guards
More Guards

On there way to save the world.
R.I.PR.I.P
R.I.P

The Mao Zedond memorial hall were the mummified body of the great leader is located.
MemorialMemorial
Memorial

The People's heroes memorial at Tianamen Square.
DemocracyDemocracy
Democracy

It's true! China has a parliament. A building that is.
Sign at the airportSign at the airport
Sign at the airport

Whatever you do; Never climb and take care of the children at the same time.


7th April 2010

Är det inte Maos musuleum du är vid? Kejserliga staden, förbjudna, ligger väl 1/2 km bakom platsen du stårpå, eller?
7th April 2010

So cool
What a great couple of hours. Too funny about them wanting their picture with you. Go figure. The pictures are awesome. Thank you as always for the vicarious travel expreince. Sheryl
8th April 2010

Hej Kerstin
Den förbjudna staden ligger ganska långt bort från själva ingången. Jag står vid ingången, porten där Maos porträtt hänger. Maos mauoleum ligger mitt emot ingången på andra sidan himmelska fridens torg. Se bilden som heter R.I.P. Hoppas allt är bra hemma i Sverige. Vi syns nästa vecka. //Kristian

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb