China - Beijing The Forbidden City


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
May 16th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So having made the journey and found a good hotel near tian'man i get out to see some of Beijing. Firstly I wander around the Tian'man square area and go into the forbidden city. This is a fascinating place and one that has a great history. Beijing looks ready for the olympics and it should be a great event! I pass through the gates and today it is incredibly busy. In Tian'man there are huge crowds and as always a strong military presence. Mao's body is still available for viewing but as with Lenin in Moscow it is not something that I feel any urge to see. I enjoy a day of wondering around and take in some of the Hutong areas that are being heavily rebuilt in the north of tian'man. After making some quick calls home I make it to the sky bar for some qinqdao and to enjoy the great view out over the city. I venture out for some peking duck which is really good and then I get back to my double room looking forward to having a room to myself for the first time in nearly a month!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Tian'man AreaTian'man Area
Tian'man Area

My hotel was five minutes away with a great view of the area from the skybar!
Canada PavillionCanada Pavillion
Canada Pavillion

Canadian's trying to sell redwood to the Chinese!
TianTian
Tian

Busy hot and dusty but great fun!
Tian'man squareTian'man square
Tian'man square

Forbidden city in the haze!
Tian'manTian'man
Tian'man

Government building in the background.
Forbidden City Forbidden City
Forbidden City

Entrance gate
Busy day at Tian'manBusy day at Tian'man
Busy day at Tian'man

I am the only foreigner in town today!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb