Chinese Hospitality


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Olympic Park
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Beijing SunsetBeijing SunsetBeijing Sunset

Looking out from Duncan's apartment.
Back in Beijing! It was a uneventful train ride, as I was asleep for most of it. Piece of advice: if you have to take a train for more than five hours get a bunk. It costs a bit more (170 kuai for a hard sleeper v. 98 kuai for a chair one way from Beijing to Hohhot) but your tailbone will thank you for it. I was on the bottom bunk, so no funny stories about climbing the 8" ladder, sorry. Maybe next time.

I wanted to take a minute to rave about Chinese hospitality. So far, on my trip, the people that I have encountered have been friendly and warm. I have never felt out of place, and there is always someone who is willing to explain what is going on to me. I have made some fabulous friends and will remember each experience that I have had so far.

But, like with anything, there is always a dark side.

I was placed in a Chinese home in Beijing, where I was going to be staying for the rest of my internship. The mother seemed nice, but Sophia got into an arguement with her. I didn't understand what was being said, and when Sophia explained it to me I was only more confused. Later, after the mother kicked me out, did I discover that she expected me to be a live in babysitter. In my freetime I was expected to watch Dao Da. Ha ha, no.

Sophia and her friends picked me up at the subway station and now I am waiting to see where I am going to be placed. I hope I am going back to Hohhot.

I don't want this story to be what is thought of as Chinese hospitality, the insanity of the situation still suprises me. But more importantly, I remember all the womderful people that I have met so far. And how fantastic Sophia and the people at Oden have been during this situation.

Good food, and happy thoughts,

Kaye

Advertisement



16th August 2009

baby sitters
This was exactly what happened with our 2nd Au Pair when living in London. She was from Germany and had never been told that she was being hired for 25 hours of house work and baby sitting per week. The rest was her time to attend university, party, etc. When I was walking her through the house explaining what I wanted cleaned, etc., she freaked! She was a very spoiled lady who had never even done a load of laundry much less turn on an iron. I showed her our papers with the placement group and she showed us hers! Wow, at least they refunded her application fees and she went on to stay in London and take full time English classes. She was on leave from a car company that wanted her to perfect her English so she could go to the states for HR purposes....
16th August 2009

sometimes I think that recruiters will say anything to get applicants. that seems to be the case with me. if you remember I thought I was going to be in Beijing for six months. i didn't pay fees (thank god) but still I've been fed a lot of bullshit to get where I am now.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb