The Great Wall Of China..... you mean The Great Stairway of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
July 3rd 2017
Published: July 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Saturday was a great day……….. and today is Monday night, this post is a little late, it’s been a rough couple of days that I will blog about tomorrow. Well Saturday was great in the sense that I went to the Forbidden Palace and I climb the great wall. It was an awesome experience but boy am I tired. I tried to write this passage in the yesterday morning but I just couldn’t wake up early enough to pack, have breakfast and write about my Saturday adventures. I know, I know I’m complaining too much but I just want y’all to know that saturday was jampacked, it was leg day!



Breakfast at the hotel was different and unique, we had steam buns, green beans, hot soymilk and other things that I don’t remember, all of it was yummy. Also, good thing I ate lots because we left at 8:30am to the forbidden palace and did not have lunch till 1pm. The forbidden Palace was enormous and packed with people and I mean packed, like there were times were walking was nearly impossible todo. Oh, and by the way, I must let everyone know that China is hot and sooooo humid. By the end of the tour the group was soaked with sweat, it was pretty gross.



It took about 2 hours to get from one side of the palace all the way to the other side, google pictures lied to me. I had no clue that the palace was so big and so incredible, the structures and the layout were beautiful, not to mention the colors. I learn so many things about that place, like how the Forbidden Palace was finally open to the public in 1925 after the revolution. Not to mention that the emperor and the first lady did not sleep in the same building. They both had their separate building, and you don’t want to know why.



We finally made it to the other side after two long hours in the heat, we were all sweaty and sunburn. We were all ready for food and the AC that came with the bus ride to the restaurant. Lunch was the same as Friday dinner, more dishes that I could find in the US. No matter we were all hungry but after lunch, I wanted ice cream and I let everyone know. I probably said I wanted ice cream several times, my fellow classmates probably got annoyed with me.



After lunch, we got on the bus and headed to the GREAT WALL OF CHINA. Guys the Great Wall is not flat and straight like google maps makes it look. Its slanted and made of many steps, like it’s all steps. If that wasn’t enough all the steps were uneven, but gash darnit I was making it to the top and boy was it the most lovely thing I have ever seen. The view was so worth the struggles of getting to the top (don’t worry I’ll tell you the struggles later). It also turns out that you cannot walk the whole wall just a small section, that section being the part closest to your parking lot. Well the part of the Great Wall closest to our parking lot was very step and very long. So, we all got ready, took some before pictures and started climbing at our own pace.



I started out great, it was not a fast pace not a slow pace either but then lunch came into the picture. I felt like puking (sorry if this words is gross but I said it several times while climbing the wall so I thought it was only logical to say it here) and had to stop several times. Every time I stopped, I told the group that I was done and to go on without me. They never left me and encourage me to keep going, well closer to the top I felt like I was the one encouraging them to keep going. We all made it to the top and were very happy until we remember that we needed to go back down. Thankfully going down a mountain is easier than going up a mountain.



I reached the top, did not puke and didn’t trip and fall on my face, I call that a win. Oh, by the way the whole time I was climbing the great wall of China I felt like a celebrity……. Everyone wanted to take pictures with us, it was so weird. Some Chinese people would just take selfies and include us in the picture. Like I know I’m pretty but ask first.



Well we had dinner and called it a night, all of us were tired and ready for a shower and a good night’s sleep. We also needed to prepare for Sundays ordeal of getting on a high-speed train and getting to the university. That ordeal I will let y’all know on the next blog. Hopefully it won’t take me two days to post it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb