I made it!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
May 6th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone - I don't have a lot of time...no signal on the cell phone so far so don't be offended if you have sent me texts that have gone unreturned - I haven't gotten any of them! 😞 Still hoping to get in range of a signal one of these days but I think it may be my phone so maybe will not have luck with that.

My first impressions of China are busy...and warm (emotion and weather!). Everyone so far has been super hospitable, and our dedicated host that is a China native (his American name is Peter) does not fail to bring a smile to my face with his enthusiasm.

Beijing is a bustling city where old and new have collided in a peculiar and chaotic way that somehow produces a beautiful charm - like an old favorite song that some new young hip artist remakes. It is old and familiar, yet new and strange at the same time. And it takes more than one listen to make up your mind if you really like it. Over the next few days I will be intently listening to the conflicting tunes this Country sings - tradition and innovation each trying to make themselves heard to form what will no doubt be a lasting impression on this wide-eyed traveller.

So, I am safe and sound, excited to start the day tomorrow at Tiananmen Square. Hopefully I'll be able to post some pictures too.

For now, I'm off to eat and then sleep!

Advertisement



6th May 2008

Miss You!!
I am happy to hear you are ok. Please be safe, take lots of pictures and write notes.
7th May 2008

Hope you are having a fabulous time!
Glad to hear you made it safely! Can't wait to hear another update about your adventures!
7th May 2008

hi
Glad to hear you made it there and I loved your description of how you're experiencing the country thus far! Have a FABULOUS time - Can't wait to hear all about it :-)
7th May 2008

Thrill
Your description is enthralling! Wish I was there with you!! Miss u. More updates and pictures. Have lots of fun but be safe!
7th May 2008

excited for you...
Wow! What an experience. I can't wait to see your pictures and hear all your stories. I'm watching your blog and reading my National Geographic. Hope to hear from you soon. -Pete

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb