Journey to the East


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Dongcheng
July 16th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm here...almost! In transit at Guangzhuo airport so I haven't actually been out in the China air yet although the air is hot enough in the airport is hot enough. It's 6am and i already have sweat running down my back! Oh and they just turned all of the lights off, hopefully its to save power for the aircon!

So my flight...let's just say i will never complain about Qantas again! My flight from Brisbane to Sydney was luxurious compared to the international leg on China Southern or as it should be known China Midget airways. The seats were tiny, my head reached the top and my knees hit the seat in front. Even the tiny Chinese lady next to me had trouble getting her tray table to sit flat because her knees were in the way. Oh and the best part was that in my sheer relief at making it to check in on time (earlier in the day i had misread my ticket and thought i only had 25min in Sydney to transfer and re-check in!) i forgot to confirm if ihad been given my requested window seat.....turns out i was stuck in the middle! Thankfully i was between 2 small Chinese ladies but unfortunately all 3 individual reading lights where centered on me so that when one of them wanted to read they pretty much had to hold their magazines in my lap and read of the reflection! There was a positive to the flight...it was so hot i didn't have to risk using the vomit blankets (the airline has been in the news recently for unhygienic practices!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb