The Great Tour


Advertisement
Published: February 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It has been a whirl wind over the past two days. I have seen Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Hutong, the Thirteen Tombs, the Great Wall, and even slept through a Kung Fu show. It is wonderful to get to see so much of the ancient culture and in between to get to see so much of the modern culture. Our tour guide, Forest, is absolutely wonderful - except when he is not. His knowledge of China is expansive and impressive. He is kind, generous, and helpful. Lastly, he is paying me all sorts of money to say these nice things. Can't beat that.

Aside from running all day and pushing my aging body to it's physical limit, it is a good time. I am getting to know several great families and one not so great family (Matt knows who he is...). It is not often a group of people come together with uncommon backgrounds and family situations, yet united around a single purpose, to survive the newt two weeks and bring our children safely back home. I am grateful to be included in the group of families that I am in. I could not think of a more ideal blend of personalities. We have a beat boxing Alaskan, a couple from Wyoming who scaled Mt Kilamajaro (I am told this is in Wyoming???), an Elementary School principle, a professional negotiator, and the De Ris' - I am not sure what is so special about them. Seriously, they are all great families. I look forward to moving from the touring phase and into the real purpose of our journey.

I really believe that these families are blessed to receive a child in this journey, and will be a blessing to these children. The passion in the group to not just learn key factoids about China, but to truly understand the culture and the history that motivates the Chinese people. Our guide was pelted with questions every time we had a spare moment. These are sensitive and carrying families who want to give of themselves in a meaningful way. They want to multiple their love by giving more of it away.

I am humbled by this group. I know that my wife and I are driven by the same motivation. However, there is something about seeing that motivation in others that is breathtaking and awesome. The group is now preparing to travel to Zhengzhou, where we will get to meet our new blessings. I must go to prepare my baggage for the next steps. I leave you with Socrates' famous last words: "Crito, we owe a cock to Asclepius. Do pay it. Don't forget."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb