Cambodia...Kampong Cham...Siem Reap...Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
October 1st 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My favorite photoMy favorite photoMy favorite photo

This was heading to the gate of Angkor Thom. The bridge is lined with the giant statues and they just make for great pics.
I'm writing this blog sitting on the bus from Guangzhou, China to Hong Kong. Been in transit for over 24 hours since leaving Hanoi, Vietnam yesterday. Today is also our 10 month anniversary of leaving New York City. Pretty crazy where life has taken me over the past 10 months. But this installment of the blog will be about Cambodia.

Left Cambodia over three weeks ago, enjoyed my time there, would go back one day, just not tomorrow. The country had a very sad, depressing feel to it, which is expected considering the things the country has gone through during the last twenty or so years. I really had a hard time smiling while being faced with hungry children standing behind our table during meals. They begged for food and would eat anything you passed there way, which as it turned out was every last scrap of food we had left on the table after our meals. Even had to buy some bread for a little girl because we ran out of left overs and she was standing there hungry. I was also overwhelmed by the amount of people missing limbs, I heard one out five people in Cambodia is
Just very cool!Just very cool!Just very cool!

These statues date back from around 1218. Pretty crazy!
an amputee, that stat just blew me away. As for our route through Cambodia it went like this...

Laos...Kampong Cham...Siem Reap...Phnom Penh...

With Cambodian visa's in hand we woke up in Laos one day and made the decision to head to Cambodia. So the three of us, that's right our favorite English girl Kate was still bouncing around SE Asia with us, lucky for us because she is awesome! A small side note, a special thanks goes out to Kate for some of the pictures contained in this blog...Thanks Kate! Catching a boat to Don Det from Muang Khong and then hopping in a mini van for the short ride to the border. This was the least developed border crossing we've encountered, basically two huts and a gate across a road. Once on the Cambodian side we jumped in a Camry, or should I say squeezed because five of us plus a driver fit into the car for the two hour drive on what amounted to a dirt path. Well paved roads are almost non-existent in Cambodia and so are rules of the road. Driving here means every man for himself, while keeping your hand on the horn
Memorial at the Killing FieldsMemorial at the Killing FieldsMemorial at the Killing Fields

This image sums it all up...How people could do this to one another is unbeleivable, yet it happens everyday. our guide informed us that everyone was killed by blunt force trauma, the Khmer Rouge didn't want to waste the bullets...FUCKING CRAZY!!!
to avoid hitting Cows, Water Buffalo, moto bikes, bicycles and pedestrians. After the car it was onto a boat to cross a river then another six or so hours in a mini bus before we got to Kampong Cham. Took another fiver hour bus ride the following day before reaching our intended destination, Siem Reap, home of Angkor Wat. For those of you who don't know Angkor Wat is the Cambodian equivalent of the Pyramids. Stepping off the bus into a sea of Tuk-Tuk madness, we were attacked on all sides by Tuk-Tuk drivers. Luckily we had arranged for a guest house already, so we got the rock star welcome, people waiting for us, a sign with all three of our names printed on it beckoning us. Spent the rest of the day drinking coffee, beers, doing Internet and just chatting with two English guys, Silas and Matt, we met the day before during the mini bus ride.

That's when I met Sarat, one of the nicest people I've met on the road so far. He drives a Tuk-Tuk and we just chatted so he could practice his English. After a great conversation and me listening to the soft
SpeechlessSpeechlessSpeechless

This is probably the most powerfull picture I've ever taken. you can't begin to understand how blown away i was during my visit to this place...everyone on the planet needs to visit places like this, then maybe, just maybe the world will begin to change...
sell about his taxi services, I decided we should hire him to drive us around Angkor Wat the next day. This decision led to us being given a glimpse of just how cheap life really is in Cambodia. Sarat drove us back to our guesthouse and we arranged for him to pick us up at 1pm the following day, now I need to preface this by saying Sarat was a happy, smiling, good guy. He takes us back to our guesthouse, at which point we are met outside by one of the guesthouses' own Tuk-Tuk drivers, they have a pretty one-sided conversation in Cambodian and suddenly Sarat's facial expression instantly changes from happy go lucky to scared shitless. I was a bit confused, but being from a big city, and seeing the change in facial expression I could tell something was wrong. The following morning while eating breakfast at the guesthouse, the guesthouses' Tuk-Tuk driver bombards us with questions about what are plans for the day are. Why are we not going with him? How dangerous it is to go with random Tuk-Tuk drivers. Just the basic nonsense that you get used to during travel. But when Sarat hasn't shown
Sunrise over Angkor WatSunrise over Angkor WatSunrise over Angkor Wat

got up at 4:30 to make sure we got there before the sun rose and as you can see it was well worth it!
up by 1:30 I already know that something in the previous nights exchange had scared the crap out of him. At this point I was getting angry, I don't like other people getting involved in my business, let alone making decisions for me. Luckily Sarat hadn't been completely scared off and he was waiting 100 meters down the street. Basically what scared him the night before was the insinuation by our guesthouses' Tuk-Tuk driver that if Sarat came back for us, there were five guys ready to beat him senseless with sticks. I just couldn't believe it. The shocking thing was he didn't seem at all surprised by this. He said he wasn't thinking when he dropped us off in front of the guesthouse the night before, he forgot how dangerous for him that was. We ended up hiring Sarat for the following three days, he took us to both sunset and sunrise at Angkor, he showed us the locals favorite spot for dinner, he helped us buy bus tickets. It was like having our own personal chauffeur. Hiring him was the best move we could have made, he spoke English well, had been studying the history of Angkor Wat,
Welcome...Welcome...Welcome...

"Dr Galakawitz, Is there a Dr. Galakawitz here?"
so he explained many things to us. The touts at Angkor inflate prices of water, food, beer and everything else for sale around the temples. So we would just give Sarat money and he would go buy anything we wanted and get the locals price. Even when he bought us beer for sunset he got a large block of ice to keep them cold, what a guy!

During our sunset discussion with him we found out just how hard his life is. We were his first customers in over 3 weeks. He gets up everyday at 4am and heads to the bus station trying to find customers off the overnight buses that arrive early in the morning. We ended up helping him make a sign in English that he could hold up when tourist get off the bus. I've met many people on the trip that blow me away, but something about Sarat just put a smile on my face. By the way, here are his contact details if you're ever in Siem Reap and need a Tuk-Tuk driver call Sarat, he'll treat you well and I guarantee you won't be disappointed...

Sarat Kim
(855) 012 77 84
How Flat is Cambodia...How Flat is Cambodia...How Flat is Cambodia...

Take a look at the scenery on the way to Siem Reap.
53
email: saratkimmoto@yahoo.com

So this blog is turning out to be a lot longer than I intended, so i will try and wrap it up. Visiting Angkor Wat and the entire rest of the Angkor complex was amazing. To think that all of the buildings were built over 700 years ago is just mind blowing. I'll let the pictures do most of the talking and since I'm no expert I'll let anyone that wants more info on Angkor to just look on Google.

We left Siem Reap and headed to Phnom Phen the capital of Cambodia. It is a vibrant city, with a lot of French influence, wide boulevards, classic French Architecture, great baguettes all mixed in with Khmer culture, impressive Wats, it even has a small Arch de Triumph. The food in town was amazing, the nightlife was good as well. We have visited enough Wats so our main tourist activities in Phnom Phen where visiting Killing Fields and going to fire guns.

So our first stop was firing guns, ended up firing an AK47, M16, Colt 45 and a Tommy Gun (that's right "Say hello to my little friend"). None of us had ever
Hey Kate can I borrow a few bucks?Hey Kate can I borrow a few bucks?Hey Kate can I borrow a few bucks?

This is the most US currency our favorite English girl has ever held.
shot a gun, it was an enlightening experience. It was amazing how loud and scary it was. Hopefully it will be my first and last time firing a gun, I did hit the target more often than not though and I was a pretty good shot. But the whole experience just reinforced what I always suspected...I'm a lover not a fighter, I would be just terrible in the army! I can't say I didn't enjoy the whole thing and I wouldn't change a thing, but I don't plan on joining a shooting club.

From there we headed to the Killing Fields. A little background for you, in the 1970's after the Vietnam War the Khmer Rouge took control of Cambodia, they marched into Phnom Phen to the cheers of the people, those cheers quickly ended. The Khmer Rouge proceeded to try and create a perfect agrarian society, the plan was that no one should do anything else but farm rice and live off the land. They took Doctors, Lawyers, Teachers, people who wore glasses and anyone else considered an intellectual and killed them and sometimes their entire families. Then took all the people that lived in the city and
Lao - Cambodia BorderLao - Cambodia BorderLao - Cambodia Border

The Border was a really sleepy spot, very quiet basically just the people from our mini-bus.
sent them to work as farmers. In the end between 1 million and 3 million people where murdered in one of the worst examples of ethnic cleansing the world has ever seen. The people where taken to killing fields all over the countryside and killed hundreds a night by any means necessary, stick to the head, farm tool to the skull, children where held by their feet and swung head first into trees. One of the most sickening things I've ever come face to face with. Over 27,000 people where believed to have been killed at the killing field we visited. I walked away almost speechless, even now sitting here in front of a computer I can feel the tears welling up just writing about it. Not sure an author could imagine something so sick and this actually happened. And this wasn't hundred of years ago, it was just over 20 years ago. More people need to read about these events, that's the only hope we have that it will never happen again. I suggest that anyone who has a chance to visit a sight similar to this one jump at the opportunity, it won't be a fun filled day
Lao Border TownLao Border TownLao Border Town

This is just what I expect from a border, it is within 20km of the Cambodian border.
but I guarantee you will be blown away and maybe, just maybe we can all prevent something like that from ever happening again.

Sarat picked us up and drove us to the bus station, we saw the finished sign we helped him make, shook hands and we boarded our bus...destination, Ho Chi Mihn City, Vietnam, I'll pick that up in the next blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Roads of Siem ReapRoads of Siem Reap
Roads of Siem Reap

Just an example of a main road in Siem Reap. This was on my Tuk-Tuk ride from the bus station to our guesthouse. Notice how hectic it is on the road, the only rules here are...there are no rules!
Eat you heart out Ron Jeremey Eat you heart out Ron Jeremey
Eat you heart out Ron Jeremey

It's hard to type I'm laughing so hard...
And the joke just gets funnierAnd the joke just gets funnier
And the joke just gets funnier

My european stylist hard at work...
Where's waldo?Where's waldo?
Where's waldo?

Just having some fun outside Angkor Thom.
Gate to Angkor ThomGate to Angkor Thom
Gate to Angkor Thom

By the way if if memory serves me Angkor means City and Thom means Big. But like I said our visit was almost a month ago now so IO could be wrong.
Lighting IncenseLighting Incense
Lighting Incense

I think it's to pay your respects, but I'm not sure. But there are women selling incense all over the entire complex.
Inside Bayon TempleInside Bayon Temple
Inside Bayon Temple

This temple has 54 towers and enless faces carved out of stone, my favorite temple we visited in Angkor.
Love this picture as wellLove this picture as well
Love this picture as well

Angkor is great for pictures. I just really liked this one, it's not my best picture but it's just pretty cool.
Is that really how big my nose is?Is that really how big my nose is?
Is that really how big my nose is?

No everything looks bigger in pictures.
Take a look at that smileTake a look at that smile
Take a look at that smile

Notice that in all the pictures Buddhas are always smiling.
Another cool shotAnother cool shot
Another cool shot

I really like the pics that are framed by windows or passageways the large amount of negative space makes for nice balance in the shot.


2nd October 2006

Missing you already!
Thanks for my awesome shout out Alan! The use of some of my pics show my great photography skills- with your helpful hints of course. Oh and the hairdressing skills too...maybe i'll consider it my new career...it'll take me round the world too, won't it?! Enjoy China.xx
2nd October 2006

wishing you a happy, healthy jewish new year.. stay well and keep safe..regards from your cousins as well.
4th October 2006

Cheers
Mr. Z...writing this blog is the second best thing you've ever done...second to going on this journey. Love the stash. And it only took you 10 months to grow it! ;-) Anyway...I was taking a drive through Brooklyn yesterday, and as I drove down the belt parkway past cropsy avenue, I thought of our softball days. Thought of you. Went to a Mets and a Yankees game over the past 2 weeks...thought of you. Had to give you a shout and some props on this internet thingy. The Mets are doing great, and the Pizza here is as delicious as ever, but we aint got nothing on what you're doing. Stay safe, have fun, get even further out of your comfort zone, and send my best to Brian! --KZ
4th October 2006

Hey Alan :)
Blog looks great, cool statues. Your pics made me remember something... while in China you should see Emperor Qins Terra-cotta army - it sounds really cool - its like 7,000 life size statues - soldiers, chariots, and horses - crazy! I dont know exactly where it is or if its even done being excavated - but you should defenitly look into it, and take lots of pics for me to see (as if that werent a given). Have fun, be safe, love you, talk to you soon :) Pamela
5th October 2006

Honestly you need could be part of dukes of hazard or My Name is Earl with that stash! ha ha ha ha ha
6th October 2006

Hey, Bada**
This blog is totally speechless, what a reminder of history. Thank you. Your looking really good. You have taken us on a nice journey. Latter
7th October 2006

Hi Alan :)
During my nap today i had a dream me you mom and dad were in Paris and you were incognito with a mustache, trench coat, sherlock holmes hat and a pipe...your new do and stash are effecting my sleep! lol, love you, have fun, talk to you soon.
9th October 2006

Still Waiting
You look more like Ron Burgundy than Ron Jeremy. We made your picture our desktop in hopes that when I turn on the computer it will scare me into labor. We're still waiting for the baby and we'll send you an email as soon as it's born!
12th October 2006

Guns?
I don't get why there is this well equipped gun range in Cambodia. The scary question is why are there so many and who is shooting/buying them? We wouldn't give you a toy gun when you were a kid. Now that you've a had real one you don't like it - but maybe the "good guys" should learn.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 19; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb