dancing in the WC with mr. frog


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
October 8th 2004
Published: October 8th 2004
Edit Blog Post

sunset in phnom penhsunset in phnom penhsunset in phnom penh

this was the view from our guest house. The sunsets were great!
The horn honking made our seven hour bus ride to the capitol of Cambodia, Phnom Penh, quite pleasant. Especially with our pit stop where there were vendors selling everything from pineapple, dried meat, and fried spiders. tasty.

We have also been learning more about the Khmer Rouge and the atroticities that killed approximately 2 million people, leaving 40%!o(MISSING)f the population, today, younger than 14 years old. It makes me wonder how I was born in a country where my parents didn't have to worry about a political tyrant, where my childhood was spent selling trinkets and crafts to foreigners.

In other news, Matt has just completed his 700 page book...and I am still working to finish my 230 pager. Since the bus ride, I have felt a little under the weather (and Matt has been SUPER awesome to me.) I spent most of today and last night in the "water closet" with the resident frog. Unfortunately, he isn't as cute as kermit, and he has me doing a little dance every time he jumps.

( matt now ) I visited S-21, the torture chamber and prison for the khmer rouge today and that was moving. The school-turned
Butterfly gardenButterfly gardenButterfly garden

An old English ex-pat set up this butterfly garden. He paid l'il kiddies for the butterflies they collected and there was a small cover to get in (he told us he donated it to a school fund)
prison has been left as it was found; wrapped in concertina wire and with shackles still attached to the jungle gym for courtyard torture sessions.

We forgot to mention the landmine museum that we visited in siem reap. A former child soldier who was kidnapped and fought for and then against the khmer Rouge has collected a lot of his deactivated mines and some testimonials from people and children who were maimed by landmines. He has adopted a number of children who would otherwise not have much of a chance; donations to his museum send them to school and such. Supposedly this man was put in prison for awhile because the government didn't want to scare tourists with landmine stories!!

Tommorow, perhaps patsy will let me go live out my rambo-esque testosterone dreams and go to the shooting range where you can fire M-16's AK-47's, etc. etc. "I'm your worst nightmare".

ok, toodles!
patsy and matt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb