Arrived Safely in Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 1st 2005
Published: June 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everybody,
Anisa promised me my first lesson in Cambodian when I get back to the apartment, so hopefully I will at least be able to say Hello in Khmer for my next entry. My flights were very calm and uneventful and Anisa managed to skip out of school during lunch to pick me up at the airport in the school's van. I am at the internet "cafe" about two blocks from her apartment. It's a very nice apartment, though a little stuffy in the heat. As expected it is very hot and humid here, though not unbearable. We'll see if I change my opinion of that when I start walking around in it more. We had dinner on a touristy street overlooking the Mekong, where I watched an elephant walk by on the sidewalk. Other notable: people riding motorcycles and scooters tend to wear a face mask to shield their nose and mouth from the road dust, but don't bother with a helmet. I'm afraid I'm still a little too dizzy from all the travel to come up with any more witty observations at the moment. I have no idea how long I was on the plane or how long it has been since I slept. I'm going straight onto Cambodian time and staying up until Anisa's normal bedtime.
I will write again soon - after I have some real sleep. I thought I should write something soon though, to reassure those of you who might be worried (my parents).
Jeem rip soa (I think that's what Anisa taught me means goodbye)
Love,
Heather

Advertisement



Tot: 0.398s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 26; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb