Monday - last day in Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 20th 2014
Published: July 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Monday was my last day in Phnom Penh before heading into Vietnam so,I decided to do a little sight seeing and post some stuff. So,I hired a tuk tuk after showing him my planned route and after some negotiation we agreed on $15.



I visited the independence monument which gets light upmat night and the fountains work, but sadly I never got to take any photos. Then just up the road was a statue of the late king. There had been some celebrations a few days before for his birthday or something like that.



From there it was off to see Wat Phnom. Wat Phnom is a Buddhist temple located in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. It was built in 1373, and stands 27 metres (88.5 ft) above the ground. It is the tallest religious structure in the city. The pagoda was given the name of Wat Preah Chedey Borapaut. Wat Phnom is the charming central point of Phnom Penh.



I had a good old wander around and of course took,lots of photos lol, avoiding the hawkers and beggars and of course removing my shoes before entering the temple. There was the usual smell,of insence in there are and lots of people coming into pray Nd leaving offerings. There were hundreds of of statues inside and my favourite was the one wearing the diamanté earrings and tiara lol.



From there I nipped to the post office to send more stuff I have bought along the way back to the UK, and then headed to the palace only to be told by the tuk tuk driver that it was closed until 2pm! Grrrrr why didn't he tell me before we set out.



So I headed back to the hostel but he still charged me $15 for the pleasure of shipping me round robbing so and so! I wanted to pay less as we hadn't gone to the palace where hecwoukd have waited for me had I gone in. I just chilled out in the hostel and got some food later in the afternoon. I had arranged to meet Monica (who I met in Ventiene) and her husband Tom as they were heading to PP for a couple of days. Unfortunately there bus was running late so instead of meeting for lunch we met for tea and cake instead, met up at the Daughters of Cambodia.



We had a good catch up and had a chat about our future travel plans and experiences to date and there eventual return to the UK. We left just before closing time at 6pm and said our goodbyes and arranged to meet up again in Ho Chi Minh City in a few days time when our paths would cross again. :-)





It was then time to head back to the hostel to pack and get an early night as I was heading off to Vietnam the next morning.



Xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.472s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.3863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb