Things I've learnt....part 2


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
October 1st 2011
Published: October 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I’m learning a lot here in Cambodia......about me; about the Cambodian way of life & people; and also some completely useless information:

• The unemployment rate in Cambodia is around 4%. Sounds impressive, but the country doesn’t have social security, so working is essential. Having said that, there are a LOT of people that are employed in shops etc, that appear to sit and do nothing all day due to lack of customers. I often wonder if they get paid.
• You can buy diet tea etc in the supermarket....have no idea why though, as the Cambodian people are some of the tiniest people on the planet;
• It’s supposed to be good luck to invite a white person to a wedding or special dinner etc (Mel and I have been invited to the wedding of the sister, of a waitress we met yesterday – sadly it’s in Dec, and we won’t be in PP at the time);
• Cambodians have a communal mind-set.....ie what’s yours is mine and I’ll use it.... Went up to the terrace yesterday and the neighbour had her washing all over the place, and was drying food in the sun etc (her terrace is covered).
• I’m guilty of pre-judging every slimy-looking, old, Western man that is with a young Cambodian girl. They make my skin crawl, and they appear to be everywhere;
• After the first 5 minutes, the fish pedicures feel fantastic instead of weird.....haven’t giggled so much in ages;
• Everything can be carried on the back of a “moto” – gas bottles, doors, dead chickens, mini shrines, long pipes for construction, and.....wait for it.....people -lots of people – max so far was 5 !!!
• Despite it being the wet season and there being lots of rain, I’m already getting a tan from simply being outdoors;
• You don’t see Cambodians running or rushing, anywhere.....they are so chilled out;
• There is a moto or tuk tuk every 30 metres or less and each one of them will ask you ”you want tuk tuk/moto”, even if you’ve just turned down the guy you’ve just walked past. You can buy tshirts here that have “no tuk tuks, no motos, no books, no postcards today” on the front, and on the back “or tomorrow”.....because many will also ask if you want one tomorrow. I learnt in Vietnam a long time ago to never say “maybe” because tomorrow they will find you and remind you that you “promised” yesterday that you’d “use my moto today”...
• I wish I had a dollar for every time I’ve said “no thank you” to a tuk tuk driver etc, as I could probably build a small house here by now.
• You can buy dope chocolates over the counter at some bars...............and, No, I didn’t buy any, I’m seriously not that type of girl.....and people opening smoke dope in the same places.
• I’m learning lots of about various cultures just by being around the mixed pot of volunteers that we have....there are some awesome people here at the mo......seems many of us are of the opinion that one Western nation in particular wants to rule the world and has a superiority complex;
• Someone will need to re-progam the “crossing of the street mechanism” in my brain when I get back because I’ve slipped back into the “walk across the street without stopping or looking” behaviour that is common place here..........they will go around you, or blast their horn at you to let you know they’re taking “right of way”, so there’s not much danger (said tongue in cheek, with a dose of reality) of being hit. They do go around you, and in reality, only travel at around 20 – 30kms/hr, so have time to change their direction etc – the trick is not to stop suddenly as it confuses the heck out of the drivers.
• Pedestrian crossings are just pretty drawings on the road and serve no functional purpose.....same can almost be said for the few traffic lights around the city.



Advertisement



4th October 2011

Combodia
The blog on Cambodia was quite an eye opener
15th October 2011

thanks
Hi Balvinda Thanks for your positive feedback on my blog.... Robyn

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb