Finally leaving Nam


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
February 26th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm about to leave Nam, when this bus eventually turns up. Just got to avoid Charlie for the last few hours and then got my papers home, well to Cambodia.
Since I last posted I've hung arounf Hoi An for a few more days, didn't do a great deal, spent most of the time at the beach chilling get a tan, sweet!!!! Went out, properly one night. All the bars close at 11pm so your left with getting a bike about 15km to one of 2 dodgy bars or the booze cruise, we opted for the booze cruise.
The booze cruise is basically this boat you pay $6 to get on and your drinks are free, it's just local stuff, but doesn't taste too bad and gets you hammered. I certainly got my $6 worth. The other option, if you want to carry on drinking is just to get stuff and drink on the streets, which me and some others did one night. I felt like I was 14 again. It was a laugh as some Vietnamease kids were on this boat, it was one of their birthdays and they invited us on their boat, we had the local rice wine, it's kind of like Vodka. Again got us hammered.
I left Hoi An on Thurs and started to head to Hoh Chi Min City (Siagon). I was going to get the bus all the way, but it's 24hrs, I decide against this. Instead I stopped at a place called Nah Trang, it's a coastal resort, a lot of Vitenamease as well as travellers go there. It was good as a Dutch couple I'd met earlier were there to so met up with them. We got there about 6am, the bus was over night so got some pretty decent kip, but got another 1 today, which turned up as I was writting this, so I'm now actually in Cambodia. Anyway, back to what I was doing in Nah Trang. I got a little more sleep, but the Dutch couple ramg ,y hotel to say the were going on a boat trip for the day and did I want to go. I thought, "what the heck, nowt else to do." Glad I did as it was fun. It was really sun so caught some rays, also did a bit of snorkelling at some coral, they gave away some booze in the sea so had fun jumping from the top of the boat, I've got some good pics.
That lasted most of the day and was pretty knackered after so chilled at the hotel and then met the Dutch couple and some other5 people for dinner. It was probably the nicest dinner I've had so far. We went to a seafood restaurant. The food was all outside so you could choose what you wanted, I had mussels and 2 of the biggest tiger prawns I've seen, absolutley delicious. After we just got a couple of beers at the beach and as I was up at 7.30am for another bus journey I went too bed.
Next day wasn't to exciting, speant another 10hrs on a bus, I got to Siagon about 6.30pm, found a hotel, which wasn't great, but ok, got some cash and food then as I was straight off to Cambodia in the morning bed. Highlight of the night was the power cut that happened. The timing of the retunr to power was excellent, just as the England vs Scotland rugby match started, so I watched that then back to bed.
That brings me to today. Again most of it has been travelling, been doing some hardcore travelling to bring me schedule back up-to-date. Got as bus from Ho Chi Min City (Siagon) to the Cambodian border. It was supposed to be a big air condiotioned bus, but it was a little mini-bus. It was ok though and there were some Swedish guys I'd met breifly in Hoi An on there and they recognised me so chatted to them. It didn't take too long to get to the border, then an hour or so for everyone to cross, we got some lunch, then another bus to Phonm Penh. It took about 5hrs, but was better then the last so it wasn't too bad. Good job as it's roasting here, well into the 30's. I also met a Buddhist monk on the bus and spoke to him, which was cool, quite am interesting chap. He was telling me and this Swedish guy how he runs a Buddhist conservation charity and has been all over the world, killed sometime to say the least.
That brings me to know, just has some food and on the net. The plan for the rest of the eve is some beers and football and hopefully something to cheer about. Earlyish night as a big sightseeing day tomorrow, going to the killing fields, genocide museum, Royal Palace and shooting range (cows beware), so should have lots to reprt.
Bye for now. Spade.

Advertisement



1st March 2006

WOW
Just been reading all about your trip. i'm SO jealous. Now decided i definately have to go to China, although not to steal a child, just borrow one. :o) glad your having a fab time. Ciao C
5th March 2006

They'll probably give you the kid.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb