A relaxing sunday evening


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its a relaxing sunday evening. The weather here has been hot today, right now though its in the mid 70's and completely livable. I have now completed my second week of classes and my fourth week in cambodia. I can't believe its almost been a month. It seems like just yesterday we just landed. The work is rewarding, I like knowing that anything profits we make go straight to rural cambodia. The contrast just leaving the city is staggering, drive 8 hours into the countryside and you can't even imagine your on the same planet. Its that simple. We watch as the last hours of Phnom Penh come to an end. In the distance 50 and 60 story structures are being erected. The city is in flux and its hard to see or envision how this will change the lives of the average cambodian. My hope is that the maturity and development of people our age becomes a catalyst for smart development. Not the poorly restricted and profane growth we see in dubai or southern thailand. My hope is the wealth is shared and clear vision brings the country up together. However in the words of a microfinance gentleman I just met, "its not likely."

I have posted links to my newer pictures. will have more to come and hopefully some blog entries to add in the coming days. We are approaching several national holidays. All of which I intend on participating in. The internet cafe is closing so I better bugger out of here. I miss you all. Hope all is well back on the homefront.

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2187140&l=c14ca&id=11502663

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2187142&l=4a309&id=11502663

Goodluck accessing. More to come soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0985s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb