One of those months...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
December 14th 2005
Published: December 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Posing for the cameraPosing for the cameraPosing for the camera

This looks very idyllic, but it took me a good half an hour to stop them crying every time my camera appeared.
It has been an interesting last month, filled with both good and bad experiences. Mostly bad though, but as they say, whatever doesn't kill you, makes you stronger. First I broke up with my Khmer boyfriend, which resulted in a drama that could contest any teenage love drama. In many ways the locals here are very naïve when it comes to love and relationships. So, to make a long story short, he will never talk to me again, and of course, everything was my fault for not behaving like a good Khmer girl - meaning sitting at home and waiting for my man to further his career until he saw fit to marry me.

Then, I ran into this really cool Khmer girl, whom I have mentioned earlier here, Damay. It so turned out that we both broke up with our boyfriends at the same time, so we made a pact to look out for good guys for each other. This resulted in me getting a rather exited phone call from her one day, in which she proudly announced that she had found me a guy. What then came out was that this guy was her brother. Now, I am
Out for lunch at West Baray, Siem ReapOut for lunch at West Baray, Siem ReapOut for lunch at West Baray, Siem Reap

Gilad, Damay, Damay's friend, Kim
a bit wary of dating friends' brothers, because of the obvious implications that can have on the friendship if the relationship doesn’t work out, and I told her so. And kind of laughed of the whole proposition and thought nothing more of it. But, wouldn't you know, a week later I received another call from her, asking me to come to her hometown with her during the Water Festival. As I had already been there, and met her family, I thought that a brilliant idea, as Phnom Penh would be unbearable crowded during said festival. Then she told me that she had already spoken to her brother about me, and that he really wanted to meet me again, AND, if that wasn't enough, talked to her mother about me becoming her brother's girlfriend, which her mother had given her full blessings to since I was such a nice girl. That had me in stitches for a good ten minutes. I almost expected to come to her family's home and we whisked up in a wedding straight away.

It wasn't until I met her at her family's home that she told me that she had only arranged to visit home
LunchtimeLunchtimeLunchtime

Someone is happy there is food on the table... ehr... floor... whatever...
so I could meet her brother again. That set me back a bit. Anyway, spent a happy day there with Damay, two German guys, and her brother. Of course, the whole setup was a huge fiasco due to her brother being so shy that in 24 hours I think he uttered five words to me. However, he got around to tell Damay that he really liked me. But, as I do like to talk to my boyfriends, I kindly told Damay that I didn't think I would be her future sister-in-law.

Then, I manage to have to motorbike accidents here. Nothing major, but quite painful anyway. The first one was very bizarre. I was driving home from a temple (where I had been praying for three hours or so, not my idea, but interesting at the time) when suddenly, out off nowhere, this string (or something like that) turns up across the road and hit me straight on the throat. For the last two weeks I have sported this not really flattering burn mark across my throat. It's getting better now, and turning my head is no longer an effort. But, of course, that was when I had to
Hungry?Hungry?Hungry?

DAmay is showing off how to eat catfish the ladylike way.
have another accident. I was driving to work one day, when suddenly (a lot of suddenlys here, but I guess that is to be expected, seeing that if it wasn't suddenly there wouldn't have been any accidents) this guy zooms up and hit my front wheel. My bike stops straight away, he drives off as fast as he can, I bang my ribs on my handlebars and then gracefully topples over. That impact is one of the most painful experiences I have ever had. For three days after that I could literally not move at all, and it wasn't until the fourth day when I managed to roll out of bed and have a shower and get some food. But, no broken bones, and the muscles are healing now, so I am able to walk around and do things. Laughing, lifting, or anything that need the use of my tummy muscles are still quite painful. I never really realized how much one is using one's tummy muscles until now.

And then, of course, I have gotten my own personal Khmer stalker. There is a guy who lives in my building who figured out a way to look into my
Time to restTime to restTime to rest

Gilad is relaxing after lunch while entertaining the rest of us with his skills on the guitar.
bedroom. Now, what you don't know doesn't hurt you, and I was blissfully unaware that someone was watching me in my bedroom, until the day I heard this whispering outside. I was reading a book before going to sleep, and the whispering basically went like this: You want to fuck, I can help you, open the door and let me in. When I realized that someone was actually whispering to ME, and I started to look around, I noticed two notes on my bed which he had slipped in to me. The notes basically said the same thing that he was whispering. Strangely enough I didn’t really lay there in my bed hoping for some pervert stranger to come along and offer to fuck me, so I started screaming to him to leave me alone. I thought I had gotten the message across, but obviously not, because a week later another note came into my apartment. This time, however, he had added that he loved me, as that would make any difference… pervo!!!! This time I took the matters to my landlord, and got them to block any possible way for anyone to see into my bedroom and my bathroom. So, at least this time I thought that that was the end of that story. But, the other day I came into my living room to discover that my curtains out to my balcony was drawn slightly apart. I thought that very strange since I never draw them apart. So, I went over to the doors and looked out on my balcony through the windows, and then I saw this guy sitting out there looking in. I started screaming at him to get the fuck off my balcony, and banging on the window, and that was when he climbed up to the balcony above me. How sick can someone be? So, now that he no longer can see into my bedroom, he actually went one step further and figured out another way to look into my apartment.

So, what else has happened? Oh yes, I also received a love letter from a guy I have never met, proclaiming his undying love for me, and that he had loved me for two months already. Do you see what I mean with the locals being a bit naïve in love, at least compared to westerners? I don't know any of my western friends who would luv someone they never had spoken a word to. But, although a bit strange, it was sweet.

Hmm… I think that is it. Should be enough though. Remember, all of this happened within four weeks or so. Quite the eventful month one can say. If I remember anything else, I will get it posted.

Advertisement



16th December 2005

God Jul
Hei vennen! Hørres ut som om du har nok av action ;) Ka e planane dine for julefeiringa då? Komme ikkje him til Norge vel?? Eg begynne så smått å forstå at det snart er jul... Har enda ikkje begynt å kjøpe presangar, så eg er redd for at det blir litt stress i siste liten! Nå begynne huset vårt å bli godt inflytta - har bare litt igjen nå :) Så i mårå blir det innflytningsfest + at me feire 23 års dagen til søstera mi! Litt kjipt for Vidar som måtte trekke siste visdomstanna si i går... Men eg satse på at han blir bra til i kveld! I jula komme Mark - han bur jo i London nå! Og så har me planar om å feire nyttår hos han i London. Blir kjekt det! Nå sitte eg på jobb og skal lage til prøvar... Litt travelt, men me har det mest kjekt! Humorfestival, filmar og quizar! Kjekt med mediefag ;) Du får passa deg for alle desse forelska lokale!!! Gla i deg!! Stor klem fra Vibeke

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb