On to East Timor?


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 17th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The afternoon rains arrived about 3pm today, and loud claps of thunder are breaking through the sky. Today was quite hot even in the morning, with the sun and the heat beating straight into my "terrace" room which not shielded from the weather.

The school feeding project demands normally about 2-3 months of preparation to get to the final submission stage. When I arrived here on 6 July, nothing had been started and thus I was expected to condense 2 months of work into about 15 days. Fine. Now, a hot opportunity has come up in East Timor and the region is expecting me to go to East Timor tomorrow and just drop the Cambodia school feeding entirely. This will mean working here this month with no day off, which I think is borderline abusive. So now, I don't know what to do really.

I am so tired from having worked 14 hour days all along and then they are expecting that I just go straight to East Timor. So I'm waiting for the call now to tell me what to do. The good agency soldier marches on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb