My visit to Kampot and Kep in southern Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
June 11th 2013
Published: June 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bokor MountainBokor MountainBokor Mountain

View across from the riverfront
I have recently returned from spending a few restful days in Kampot a small town situated on the Kampong Bay river, which although rather run down in places, nevertheless has a certain character and charm. I stayed in a lovely hotel just a couple of minutes walk from the riverfront, which itself is so picturesque, as it is overlooked by the Bokor mountain, which is situated within the Bokor National Park.

Like many places in Cambodia, Kampot's architecture reflects the era of French colonialism, many of the buildings in need of restoration although some had been returned to their former glory. I spent a couple of hours one morning walking around the town and in the afternoon took a trip in a long boat organised by Bart the Boatman, an expat from Belgium, whose knowledge of the waterways was excellent, as he took myself and four other travellers along some of the narrower, quiet and peaceful estuaries, flanked on either side with either palms or mangroves.

I spent the next day visiting the coastal town of Kep, situated about 24 kilometres from Kampot. The journey in the all familiar tuk tuk was on a rather bumpy and dusty road, as the new road is still under construction. On the way we stopped at a pepper plantation because the area around Kampot is famous for its production of green, black and red pepper. Apparently before the Khmer Rouge period, when all the pepper plantations were destroyed in favour of rice plantations, there wasn't a restaurant in France worthy of its name that didn't use Kampot pepper!

Kep itself is a small, sleepy town renowned for its fresh crab market. I did try crab, as many people had told me how good it was but, to be perfectly honest, I don't know what all the fuss is about. It seemed a lot of effort to extract what little meat there actually was! The waitress came to tell me I had used the wrong receptacle to deposit the inedible bits and then proceeded to show me how to get the minimal amounts of meat from the crab's legs! Needless to say I shan't be rushing to try crab again!

Before returning to Kampot, the tuk tuk driver took me into Kep National Park, where the scenery and views from high up across the dense forests towards the sea are fantastic.
The old bridge The old bridge The old bridge

This bridge was destroyed under Khmer Rouge rule and has since been repaired in a mish mash of styles
On the way we passed several ruined shells of buildings, of which there are many in this area, having been destroyed by the Khmer Rouge. The tuk tuk climbed slowly up a wooded deserted track with not a soul in sight and it did cross my mind on several occasions what would happen if the tuk tuk broke down or had a puncture on the bumpy stony paths!

Before catching my bus back to Phnom Penh I had some time to spare, so treated myself to a foot treatment which involved a cleanse, an oil massage, exfoliation and a pedicure. The whole process took 100 minutes and I did wonder initially how such a long time could be spent treating one's feet! Hopefully my daughter Amy won't be able to criticise the state of them now when I get back home!

Well this is my last blog and I hope that those of you, who have followed it, have enjoyed looking at it as much as I have writing it and sharing my experiences and some of my photos. Although my voluntary placement didn't turn out as I had hoped, when I return home I shall look back
'La Java Bleue' guesthouse where I stayed'La Java Bleue' guesthouse where I stayed'La Java Bleue' guesthouse where I stayed

This colonial building has been recently restored
and realise what a good experience this time in Cambodia has been. I have met some interesting and nice people, have thoroughly enjoyed my travels over the past few weeks and seen places, that I would probably never have visited, had I not decided to volunteer in the first place. The problem is though this trip has given me the desire to do more travelling, so I shall have to start saving the pennies! I must say I shan't miss the intense heat and the sound of the tuk tuk and the moped drivers, who hassle you constantly with 'tuk tuk/moto Madame' as you walk through the streets!

Anyway I shall be back in the UK in a couple of days and look forward to resuming my life and interests, catching up with friends and last, but by no means least, seeing my two daughters.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The prison in KampotThe prison in Kampot
The prison in Kampot

This is a good example of French colonial architecture
Young monksYoung monks
Young monks

They are waiting to be given food and/or money after which one receives a blessing
A small estuary on the boat tripA small estuary on the boat trip
A small estuary on the boat trip

We turned into this one, where it was so quiet and peaceful
Looking down the rows of planted peppersLooking down the rows of planted peppers
Looking down the rows of planted peppers

These plants were supported with brick posts whereas many of them were held up with wooden poles.
Track through the Kep National ParkTrack through the Kep National Park
Track through the Kep National Park

The track along which I went in the tuk tuk was like this all the way
View from the back of my tuk tukView from the back of my tuk tuk
View from the back of my tuk tuk

This gives some idea of the state of the unmade, dusty and bumpy road between Kampot and Kep.


11th June 2013

Welcome back!
Look forward to seeing you...there will be a bit of a contrast in the temperature and amount of sun here which today is non existent!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb