Cambodia Day 3


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North
October 20th 2018
Published: October 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today I visited several of the less famous temples in the Angkor area. They are not as well restored nor as crowded as the famous ones like Angkor Wat. I realize that photos of them tend to blend together and don’t mean much unless you were there, so I’ll show you one (Ta Som) that is quite atmospheric. While I was there, a couple dressed in traditional Cambodian finery was having pre-wedding photos taken. Also today I saw some wildlife that interested me. I heard gibbons hooting in the trees at one temple and at another I stopped to look at a termite mound by the side of the road. I saw Asian elephants that are not actually wild, but are used as a ride for tourists. Water buffalo used to be more common, apparently, but there are still some around. I gather that they are somebody’s livestock, but they seemed to range freely wherever they chose. And I will leave you with one more Angkor temple shot: Preah Khan was my favorite temple today, not least because it has a great entrance gate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb