Hard work pays off!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 4th 2012
Published: February 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Soph and I Soph and I Soph and I

At dinner getting pizza! :)
Hey all,I hope you’re all well and happy, because I know we all certainly are! Progress on the wall is fantastic- we are basically finished! On Wednesday – Friday, we filled in the back of the wall with dirt (required a lot of digging and hoeing), mixed cement for the top of the wall and poured it into the top sideboards. The contractors have basically decided to ‘use and abuse’ us, as I like to see it. They’ve figured that while they have five free labourers, they may as well take advantage of us and use us for other small projects. We have started on a drainage system at the front of the school, which meant we had to dig out a tonne of dirt so we could put in two new massive cement pipes. Once that is done, we had to throw stones in the remaining gaps, then cover this with cement and finally lay bricks over it. We are halfway through this process, and I think we will hopefully finish it by Tuesday! We also seem to have a lot of leftover sand, so we made a proposal to the school principals to build a sandpit! They happily agreed,
Roller BladingRoller BladingRoller Blading

What a memorable night!
who wouldn’t deny a free sandpit! ( We are paying for the materials). It has been a very hard week, though also very rewarding. Seeing the ‘Great Wall of Krobie Real’ in all it’s splendour is really an amazing sight.



I’ve figured you’re probably curious about the people we work with on the site… if not please skip this paragraph. The ‘main man’ is Mr Ta – a very funny, smiley character. He always looks like he is ready to go on safari, with his matching long sleeve mustard button up top and long mustard pants. He laughs at anything we say (even if we are just asking for help – his English isn’t too great!) and is always willing to show us the correct procedure to do anything, even if he is quietly laughing to himself – how hard is it to brick lay! Next is Mr Ta’s son – Ta 2.0. ( You will find that we have given all the contractors nicknames – they can’t understand us so it isn’t hurting anyone!). He is very short, but has nice bone structure and is a lot like his dad. He is very skilled at brick
Ice cream anyone? Ice cream anyone? Ice cream anyone?

Strawberry cheesecake and blueberry cobbler... YUM
laying, and is always up for a laugh. Palm Tree (Mr Ta’s daughter) is the only other girl on the worksite. At only 17, she is truly one of the boys, and is a cheeky character! She laughs at everything we do, and is very playful! She is really pretty, and has nice curly hair. GPS is my personal favourite, as he is literally always smiling and enjoying his job. He has very nice manners and will always be there to lend a helping hand. Wayne is an interesting character….! We think him and Palm Tree have a ‘thing’, as they are always flirting on the worksite! He looks a little bit like a cute ape, and kind of acts like one! He scales the wall in seconds and then perches on it in a squatted position! Craig David is very tall, and always wears a white shirt to the worksite. ( I have no idea why, at the end of the day it is always filthy!). He is very keen to learn English, and will often point to things and ask what they are. So that is our beloved contractors team, who we simply couldn’t have built the wall
Amy!Amy!Amy!

Getting ready to rollerskate!
without. On Thursday, us girls were having vegemite on jatz (as soon as you leave Australia you crave the food incessantly!) and decided to offer it to the contractors. GPS promptly spat it out politely, while the others chewed with forced smiles on their faces, trying to conceal their disgust at the black spread. Only Palm Tree claimed she liked it – though I personally think she just wanted another jatz biscuit!



After we had ridden home on Friday, we decided we would have a girls night out! We quickly washed and got dressed up, it was going to be a good night! On the way to dinner, we stopped at a supermarket and purchased a $9.60 bottle of watermelon vodka (something I’ve never seen in Sydney!). We then had delicious pizza, and had yummy ice cream for desert. Afterwards, we mixed the watermelon vodka with sprite in our drink bottles, and went and saw the movie “Horrible Bosses”. They don’t have cinemas here like at home – they have something cooler! They have small rooms with massive projector screens, with gold class seats! You could only fit five in a room, and it was AMAZING! The combination of the vodka and hilarious movie ( a must see!) made it a night to remember! After the movie we headed to Temple Bar, where we spent the night dancing and drinking buckets of “sex on the beach” and “aloha screwdrivers”. When our feet were sore, we headed to the night markets, and received a 20 minute foot massage for $1! Yes, you read that correctly, $1!! The massages were sahweeeet, though the chairs were so comfortable that a few of us started to drift of, so we decided it was bed time!



Today we went to Common Grounds for breakfast, where I had a 75c croissant with melted cheese and tomato – YUM. After this we went to the ‘Green Gecko Project’. I advise you to all google this organisation, as it was truly inspiring. They had taken in street children who had no money at all, and were often been abused at home. They give them a new home (all together) and its really amazing what they do! I actually insist you google it, as I feel my description will not do it justice! I have to say, if I ever came back to Cambodia to volunteer (which I’m already considering) I would 100% do it with this NGO, they are amazing! After reluctantly leaving Green Gecko, we all split up and went to different parts of Siem Reap. Amy went home to write a report, Colleen and Jess went to Mekong Quilts and Sophie and I went to the markets. We went a tad crazy, buying presents and treating ourselves - $2 sunnies, who can resist! After a successful shopping trip, we met everyone back at Earthwalkers, and had some chill time to read and relax. Old House was next on the plan, which is where we went for dinner. After spending a whole $2.50 on dinner ( including pumpkin soup, bread and green tea!) we headed to ROLLER BLADING! This was something I had not done for years, and it was very hard to get back into the gist of it! Amy was a natural, Colleen and I not so much. Amy and I took Sophie for one lap, though she didn’t like roller blading. Feeling daring, Amy and I went to the ramps. Amy went first, and gracefully went over the bump and made it to the other side. It was then my turn… focusing on my end target, I picked up speed, went up the ramp… and fell right back down again onto my knees – much to the Cambodians delight. The whole arena filled with laughter, as my face turned a bright shade of red!



After my rather embarrassing stack, we decided to go to the night markets, where Amy and I both wanted the same pair of sunglasses. We broke into a run, and I was winning, until I heard a BANG behind me. There was poor Amy, splayed across the ground, blood pouring out of a fresh wound on her toe and a dejected look upon her face. The competition had got the better of her! Sadly, when we reached the sunglasses place, they had sold the exact pair that Amy and I were so desperate to get! The girls then left Sophie and I, as we decided we wanted another massage! This time we paid a whooping $3 for an amazing one hour body massage! So now, after a busy day, I am in bed typing this blog. It is 11:03pm and I have to get up at 6:30am, for tomorrow we have a big day planned – starting off with a buffet breakfast! Missing you all, though I’ll be home so soon!! xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb