Day 16 – Siem Reap to Melbourne via Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
November 28th 2010
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was woken at 6:30am by a knock on the door. Thinking it was going to be someone telling me what time we would be leaving the hotel I jumped out of bed and as soon as I started to take off I slipped and landed so hard on my left side killing my hip and elbow. I staggered up and made my way to the door only to find the stupid maid there asking “Are you checking out?”. For one, its freaking 6:30am, so no I’m not and secondly if you checked you records you’d most definitely see that I am not. Idiot.
I stumbled back to bed for about an hour and a half then woke, chucked on some trackies and made my way downstairs to see if I could find out any information of when we were leaving. I found the Aussies all in the eating area having some breakfast and discussing what lay ahead for us. We still didn’t have a confirmed leaving time; they just told us that we would find out by 10:00am. So I was still knackered so made my way back to be for about another hour then came back down at 10:00am to find out that we were getting picked up at midday for our flight. I decided to go and sit by the pool for about an hour before leaving myself enough time to get showered and packed and get down in the lobby by midday.
We got picked up in buses, checked-in at the airport, went through security and again we were sitting in the same gate as yesterday. Sam and Jon we’re having a few issues because, unlike myself who had a connecting flight with the same airline, they did not. They were told to wait until they get to our stopover in Kuala Lumpur and it would all be sorted out for them.
We boarded our flight at about 1:45pm and flew the short time to KL. When we got there we had to collect our bags and make our way to some counter to try and sort out our flights. Andrej was the same as me with the connecting flight so we got our tickets and made our way through the maze of check-in windows, luggage drop offs and bus changes to get to our departure gate. I was lucky enough to find a free charging station to charge my iPhone4 while we waited so I plenty of battery when I got to Melbourne.
I got a text about 30minutes later from Jon to say that him and Sam were a little bit screwed with their flights and they we’re having to purchase new flights.. ouch!
We boarded our flight and the flight itself wasn’t too bad. Just over 7 hours later I arrived safe and sound in Melbourne. Ahh, to be home. After going through security and customs I made my way out and grabbed some McDonalds for breakfast before meeting mum and dad in the Maccas carpark. Cleo was so happy to see me and I was finally almost home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb