Siem Reap and Angkor Wat


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bamboo HutBamboo HutBamboo Hut

My lovely bed at Palm Village Resort
This morning I needed a taxi to the airport at 5:15. I had arranged it the night before with Me Mates Place, or at least I tried to. The guy who was working really wanted me to take a tuk tuk, but I preferred a taxi. Apparently this is an unusual request and I was doubtful that I would actually have a taxi this morning. I was right. It didn't come, and neither did a tuk tuk, and it was raining. I was so pissed off. Anyway, the guys who were sleeping in the lobby (they work there, but this is very common that people sleep in the lobbies of hostels I think) ran down the street and found a tuk tuk. I don't think they understood why I was so angry, and I wasn't angry with them because it wasn't their fault, but if they guy downstairs couldn't arrange a taxi the night before, he should have been honest with me about that. So I paid 10 USD for a tuk tuk to the airport and I was soon on a plane to Siem Reap.

I wasn't staying in a hostel in Siem Reap. I was staying just outside
My lovely bathroomMy lovely bathroomMy lovely bathroom

at my lovely bamboo hut. The shower was great.
the city in the Palm Village Resort. I'd seen an article about this place in Nat Geo Traveler magazine and it looked perfect for me. And it was. They have free airport pick up and sure enough, there was a very nice man holding a sign with my name on it. He drove me in his air conditioned car to Palm Village and I immediately liked what I saw! The entire resort is a garden with flowers and trees and sculptures scattered among the bamboo huts. It was only 8:00 AM, but my hut was ready. For 35 USD a night, I got my own bamboo hut with a lovely bathroom, free pick up at the airport, and the breakfast of my choice. The hut wasn't air conditioned but it had two fans and that was all I needed. It was really lovely and the staff at this place are so nice and very helpful. I slept for about an hour because I didn't sleep well in the hostel again, and then I hired a tuk tuk to take me to Angkor Wat and drive me between the temples for 13 USD.

A one day pass to the temples
First Glimpse First Glimpse First Glimpse

of Angkor Wat Temple
(there are many!) is 20 USD, three day pass is 30 USD, and a week long pass is 60 USD I believe. You don't have to use the tickets on consecutive days either. I bought a one day pass and our first stop was Angkor Thom. It was built by King Jayavarman VII who ruled between 1181 - 1219 and this temple was built as his palace. It has five gateways and is surrounde by a 100 m wide moat. Inside the walls are some of the most important monuments in Cambodia. First I went to Bayon which was the King's state temple. It is most famous for its four divine faces of Avalokiteshvara. These temples were originally Hindu temples, not Buddhist, but some were later converted. There are 54 tower in total with 216 faces.

Next I walked through the Terrace of the Elephants, Terrace of the Leper Kings, and then we were on our way to Ta Prohm temple. Many people say this is their favorite because of the giant trees that were not torn down because it would compromise the structure. This temple was once covered in jungle growth and when it was excavated, they had
Angkor ThromAngkor ThromAngkor Throm

temple complex. This was my first stop on the temple circuit.
to decide how much to uncover without doing any more damage. It was built in 1186 by same King, but this one was dedicated to his mother. It was impressive, but it was not my favorite.

Angkor Wat was. After a quick lunch, I was finally going to get to Angkor Wat. I'd seen it on TV, I'd heard the stories of how it was discovered and how it was unearthed, and I was very excited to see it. It was also originally a Hindu temple and was later converted to a Buddhist temple. It is a huge three-tiered pyramid crowned by five giant lotus flower-like towers that rise 65 meters from the ground. The entire temple complex is 1 sq km. Angkor Wat is surrounded by a moat as well as a wall measuring 1300m x 1500m. The carvings on the outside walls as well as the temple itself are so beautiful and so impressive. I will just let the pictures speak for themselves, although pictures cannot do it justice.

I found these temples just as impressive as the Egyptian pyramids, although they are about 3000 years newer. That doesn't make them any less impressive.

After touring the temples I was hot and sweaty and hungry. My driver took me back to Palm Village and I showered and had dinner by the pool. I was exhausted, so I went to bed early and slept like a baby till morning.





Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

MangosMangos
Mangos

Mangos are in season. I just had to have one before a day of exploring temples.
Angkor ThromAngkor Throm
Angkor Throm

There are several temples in this complex.
The God ShivaThe God Shiva
The God Shiva

These were Hindu temples originally so Shiva is everywhere along with many other Hindu gods and goddesses.
One of many FacesOne of many Faces
One of many Faces

These were everywhere in Bayon Temple.
Can you imagineCan you imagine
Can you imagine

how long it took to create something like this?
Ta ThromTa Throm
Ta Throm

is famous for the trees that are growing over the temple.
Ta ThromTa Throm
Ta Throm

and the other temples are over 1000 years old and were once covered with jungle growth.


13th April 2010

I enjoyed your post. I have always wanted to go to Angkor Wat. My blog is looking for travel photos, stories, accommodation reviews, and food reviews. If you have the time and have some to share, email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
14th April 2010

Hello!
There are wayyy more impressive temples than this an hour away! Beng Melea and Koh ker was our favorite one!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb