Tough travels


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
November 2nd 2005
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Angkor villageAngkor villageAngkor village

Paradise at the Angkor Village lodge.
Well, we have made it to cambodia. The lodge we are staying at is pure paradise, but the experience has been somewhat tough on me. The Leipers are more used to travelling in Asia, but it is fair to say that I am majorly overwhelmed. It is hard for me to be trekking through these holy sites and walking amongst small children and mine victims begging. My inclination is of course to give them all of my money, because really, I can find more of it. Others treat the locals like dirt and you hear that same old why dont they get a job rhetoric as in the states. But here, the tourists own everything, and that is enough to make me more than a bit overwhelmed. I dont claim to have the answer to this problem, but when I am president, i will remember to get started on it. This negativity is not to say that i am not having lots of fun. The streets are very alive here, and people are very friendly. I just wish that the friendliness could be more the result of a desire to reach out, and not a desire to sell something, but I guess- this is capitalism. And really, what choice have we given them?
In other news, we have been eating well, the weather is not too hot, I dont have dengue fever yet, just a broken foot which I can deal with. Hal has adjusted to the time change better than I have, mostly because as you all know, Hal has never had an issue with sleeping. I am left to ponder this new and different place at 6 am, fight with the internet, and watch the lizards scatter as the floors are polished with coconut husks. Certainly, it is a charmed life I live.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb