Siem Reap and Temples of Angkor day 3


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 4:00 and went out to the front of the guest house to meet my rider for 4:30. By 5:00 he still hadnt turned up and I was starting to panic as it was slowely getting lighter. So one of the employees at the guest house managed to organise me another motorider (his mate who he went to wake up.) So I was on my way again but this time with another driver. Ashame really the other guy seemed like a nice chap and I would have been more then happy to pay him for the final day. Oh well you snooze you loose!

Got to Angkor Wat and just caught the sun as it started to rise behind it. Very nice apart from the 2 hundred other people who were there to see this marvelous site. Took a fair few photos then went inside for a wonder and saw some monkeys too.

An hour and a half later I met up with my Moto driver and got a lift to go and see Ta Prohm again. Perfect time really I was one of five people there and being so early in the morning everything was soaked in a cool dim light which made it all very atmospheric. So I spent quite a while here. In fact so long that on my return to meet my rider he was fast asleep in one of the many hamocks they supply in the kiosks.

Next was the long ride to see finally Banteay Srei. It was only about 25 minutes to get there but talk about raw hide! Banteay Srei was rather crowded and I could see why. Despite being small it has some of the most incredible sandstone carvings. All in perfect condition. The temple is also very different from all the others in style as it seems to have more of a conection with india than anything else.

Caught the longish journey back into Siem reap. It was about 11:00. I could probably have gone to see more but after three days I was sll templed out. Went for a siesta untill 1:00 then went for lunch at the red piano. Ordered way too much but must have been hungry as I ate it all (two tuna baguettes and a large plate of chips.)

went and did a bit more internet time but after an hour the whole town was struck by a power cut and I was stranded in the internet cafe due to the downpore outside. Once it eased off a bit I darted out but darted into an irish pub when it started up again. Sat in said pub with drink and paper till the tropical rain storm finally stopped.

Power cane back on as I left and I went to the tour shop next door to buy a bus ticket back to bankok.

Went and got some photos burned to Cd before heading to the Guest house to pack my stuff.

Now it was eveneing and I went out to the restaurant Id been to a couple of nights ago (now very packed) for more excellent coconut and pumpkin soup (not as nice this time for some reason.)

Wondered around for a bit before heading back for another early night (need to get out of the habit of these early starts.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 16; qc: 82; dbt: 0.2751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb