Hello Cambodia!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 26th 2019
Published: May 27th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Cambodia and it is much different than Vietnam - they might share a border, but they are very different as far as I can tell. The language is one of the first major things you notice - in Vietnam they use the Latin alphabet and apparently words are phonetic once you learn the different tones and symbols, but the Cambodia alphabet is a series of letters that I cannot even begin to understand.

My first stop (after a whoops at the customs desk) was to Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples of Angkor Thom (tomb-raider!), Bayon and Ta Prohm. The sites were fairly close to each other and the construction was fascinating. The heat was oppressive though, so we paced ourselves, and were able to see all of them in a very good day. The food here is not so much to my taste, but I still enjoy trying different foods, something will stick as a favorite I'm sure. If not, hell the beer will do just fine. Later that evening I caught a show with traditional Khmer dancers. Their movements were methodical and beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb