A run for the border


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Battambang
July 1st 2016
Published: July 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Muezzin wasn't even warming up his vocal chords when I started for the border at 4.30am. Lots of sad looking wrecks making their way back to their hotels from khao san rd as I hopped a taxi to hualamphong railway station where I paid the princely sum of 48bht for a ticket on the 5.55am to Arranyapathet. Despite dire warnings to the contrary in various travel blogs the train left on time. All carriages are 3rd class but clean and comfy enough once I had fixed the seat with the help of the guy across the aisle. My travelling companion for the day turned out to be a young English girl taking a year's break from University to study in Bangkok, and a fine travelling companion she was. We had the idiocy of Brexit resolved within the hour and then played rummy for a while. Six bum-numbing hours later we arrived in Arranyapathet at midday, grabbed a tuktuk to the border about 6km away and joined the queue to leave Thailand. On the Cambodian side we somehow missed the visa stop and had to walk back to get them but again contrary to reports it was a very quick process. Fill out the forms, pay the money, take a seat and wait, except that I had not even got my backpack off let alone sat down before they were calling my name and handing me my passport with glossy visa affixed. Then after queueing again for a while we were granted entry into Cambodia. We were planning to go to the bus station but stopped to watch a little Philipino lady haggling with a taxi driver and before we knew it we had a taxi to Siem Reap all organised, I would go with them as far as Sisophon and change taxis for Battambang. At this point our little Philipino announced it was time for lunch so we kept the taxi on hold for an hour while we dined. I parted ways with the ladies at Sisophon and arrived in Battambang around 5.00pm. A long day on the road. A dinner of beef and rice and a couple of beers set me back $3us. Then off for a blissful shower and sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb