Another selections of goodies..


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Battambang
November 26th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings all, it has been awhile since my last post. I have been very busy in recent weeks. Unable to write properly or correspond in a manner I would like to. Let me start by saying a great big hello from Cambodia. I have left the bustling city of Phnom Penh and taken sail to the second largest city in Cambodia, Battambang. I have snagged a guest instructor position at Panastra University teaching intensive English classes. I finished my teaching commitment in to CWF Phnom Penh on Friday and Monday of this week was when I met my class. They are a gifted bunch of young college students who seem eager to learn. Already I have taken to one of the monks in my class who I have a mischievous and witty side that is terribly contagious.

I am living in a backpacker hotel about 1km away from the school. On most days the temperature doesn’t raise itself to the point I can’t walk without sweating through my shirt. Although the evening here are terribly refreshing, it hits the 70’s, which after being here for months feels amazingly cool. I don’t have a kitchen and am forced to eat out at the school cafeteria or local restaurants which is not so bad I guess. I am a little homesick for home cooked meals, even the meals from our house cook back in Phnom Penh. It’s amazing how quickly this type of food warms to you.

My local favorites are Sum low majuu sait moan, which is a light broth based soup with chicken, tamarind, pineapple, and fresh lake green or the infamous gawng-gaip bow, which is deep fried frog with Khmer style BBQ sauce. Delish! Oh and lastly the fruit shakes from the street stalls are about 2000riel or about 50c and will satisfy and fruit craving, my personal “fav” being lime, banana with fresh yogurt. Yumm! Tonight dinner came from a small place across the street, a Cambodian style club sandwich of chopped cucumber, green tomato, fried egg, and Khmer style smoked pork. Solid choice!

Well in closing I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little homesick, though there are some creature comforts that have kept me close to home—namely the internet in my room. It may only work a couple of hours a day. But it’s a godsend! I have included all the pictures from my trip to Siem Reap and the last nights with my flat mates in PP. Hope you all enjoy.

Ps. I don’t get many TV stations here and I haven’t even watched TV since high school but oddly enough I get the outdoor life network and the Aussie stations have ample car racing and bull riding. Hee Hee. Little things.

Till next time…

Last night in PP
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2201162&l=0ac2b&id=11502663

Angkor Wat and Siem Reap
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2198525&l=78e84&id=11502663
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2200989&l=917a5&id=11502663






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb