They get you coming the get you going!!!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
April 13th 2005
Published: April 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

WE Made it out!!!Barely, I mean Vietnam was a tourist trap from start to finish, I know they have suffered hardshipsin the past, but I firmly believe they are trying to make up for lost time in a year a day an hour, for they go after each and every penny ruthlessly. Not only us, they will even rip off their own people... Example.

Picture this, 38 degrees, I have a backpack and a new bag that we bought to haul some extra clothes and things, weighing roughly 60 pounds, we are walking 1 KM to this boat...on the way this little girl asks me to buy water fromher, well actually she asked for about 15 minutes straight until I broke down, but anyways, these other little guys were trying to help me find the boat and they were cute little kids right. Well we get to the boat and the water is like 30 cents, so I give her a dollar and she says she hasno change.....I am at the border to Cambodia, literally 2 steps and the Vietnam dong isno good anymore, so I say "ok you take your 30 cents and give the rest to the little guys who tried to helpme carry this bag" She says ok and done right?? Not likely, this is howsavage they scam their own people, we pulled away in the boat with the twoboys running to the wondow of the boat balling their eyes out because the little girl wasnot giving them their share....Small money and small story but that gives a little incite into what that place was like!

Anyways,enough dwelling, wejust got back from one of the 7 wonders of the world....where they filmed Tomb Raider....ANGKOR WAT...Amazing to say the least, over 1000 years old and so indepth inevery carving,,, and massive to boot. Wild.

That is it for Cambodia, we are off tomorrow to Bangkok and then to an Island to chill for abour 7 days, before we are back to Bangkok to fly home.

15 more sleeps, Can't wait to see everyone. I think Iwill do one more log, but I would really liketo get some replies on what people thought throughout.
Take care

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb