Temple touring day 1


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
October 24th 2007
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday 24th October

Tomb Raiding.
The thought of a tuk tuk for the whole day did not appeal, too far and too dusty, so I get reception to organise Si nan for the day.
$25 US for the day in an air con Camry and his English is okay.
Much better idea.
Start at Banyon, the one with the faces on the columns.
Not many people, good place.
On to Takeo, the one they never finished because war broke out.
Don’t take the climbing wall, I mean the steps on the market side of the temple, that is for the SAS. It nearly killed me.
The real steps are at the east end, I know this because the guard who rescued me as I descended on the market side took me back up and led me to the east. That earned him $2, and my thanks.
I bring up my little adventure with Si Nan, “sorry, forgot to tell” was the best he could come up with. Hmmm.
Camera has decided it’s having an off day so no photos of this temple.
Ta Prohm via the victory gate.
Ta Prohm is the temple they used in the Tomb Raider movie and is very impressive, only one bus and half a dozen indies like me so am alone plenty of times.
Lots of restaurant and T shirt touts. Tell the T shirt tout who is very loud that if she keeps yapping I will walk away and not buy. This involved a lot of hand signals.
Si Nan translates, tout says I say better than him.
Two touristy T shirts later and I’m hungry.
Lunch at the aptly named number 14 which Si Nan assures me is clean despite the men sleeping in the hammocks above the dogs, chickens and cats.
I get the ginger chicken which was quite good, while Si Nan ate something in a bowl.
We shared a bottle or two of Angkor beer, which Si Nan describes as “His country, his beer.” He needs a T shirt made.
The staff were great.
It’s now two hours after lunch and I still feel okay, it won’t be long to see if this dining experience leads to my downfall.
Home for a rest, climbing in the heat does you in pretty quickly.
Off for a snack in Pub Street which turns into another language lesson.
Not long now and I’ll be bluffing in Khmer, all be it rather badly.
Off to the bookshop and receive a damaged $1 note in my change, give her “the look.” Replacement furnished no questions asked.
Convenience store has Johnny Walker Red for $11.50, man that’s cheap but it gets better. The last time I saw Schweppes dry ginger was in Bangkok, and here it is in Siem Riep and it’s in the fridge.
Offered a girl for the second time today, boring.
I think tuk tuk drivers are all part time pimps so they don’t even rate a tay r khun.
Whenever I walk through reception the staff stand and it’s making me uncomfortable, I ask if boss tells them to stand when I come in, they say yes. I say not relaxing for me, please stay in seat better.
Big smiles and thank you from them. It only took me three days to work this out.
Quick huh?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb