Stepping into the Kingdom of Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

How stunningHow stunningHow stunning

took this picture on the back of a motorbike. We were on our way to see another temple in Ankor, Siem Reap
"People travel because it teaches them things they could learn no other way" L. Morrow

The word 'Cambodia' has rolled around my mouth for two weeks spent now. I enjoy the sound, and have been busy collecting ideas, facts, cultural splendors and the like that conjure an honest impression of this Kingdom, all of which fall under that beautiful sound: Cambodia.

I stepped into the Kingdom, braced and ready to be bombarded, grabbed and ripped-off. Instead was greeted with smiles, and polite indications that i needed to que to get a taxi ticket.

So, I jumped onto the motorbyke, and prepared myself to experience the 'worst roads in Asia' only to lightly bump across a slightly unsteady road. These previous ideas had to be thrown into the wind....

On of the most remarkable and stunning feature of Cambodia, I have discovered, is the sky. I have never seen such a real blue contrasted with the purest of white majestic clouds. The countryside is amazing, a real treat to see.

Arriving in Siem Reap, i spent the first few day (low and behold) touring the Temples of Ankor. Ankor Wat, and the other billion temples surrounding, were impressive, my favorite being the Temple with hundreds of huge Buddha faces making up the wall. Definately history along with a feeling of magic lives within the walls of Ankor.

However after 2 full days of serious temple exploring, across a vast wide open space, Angkor Wows turned into Ankor What-evers. By the third day, it rained so hard that my motorbyke driver stopped at a temple, and I refused to get off. I finally admitted, I was templed out.

Siem Reap , interestingly can be interpretated as 'Siamease defeated' That aside, its a crumbly old place, quite beautiful in its own way. There is not much to explore, aside the big tented market with they usual market commidities, and some intesting, yet devestatingly smelly takes on meat selling. Worms, Spiders and Dog are a speciality here.
I met a few great people, and hung mostly on Bar Street, yet after day 4, the 'time to go' vibes kicked in and i scaddadled to the next destination.

So far, i am enjoying Cambodia, tho the emphasis is all about the corruption, poverty and devestation that the people still face, after the occurance of a mass genocide. It is a place to educate yourself of the troubles they have faced, but for me a troubling question keeps popping up.
In a world I believe to be so beautiful and magical, how can I explain the pure terror and brutality of what one human can do to another? Years later, these people still feel the consequences of such beastly acts, how can they still believe in the beauty of the world?

I have my own ideas as to the answers, and am collecting more as i travel. Im reading books on the Kingdom, as well as talking with the locals. As always I am open. My ideas have changed about begging and barganing now. I am much more generous, than I was 2 years ago. The children work hard, working the tourists. Yes, a Westerner would say they should be in school, but im begginning to understand the real devestation here, and the need to work over education. All my 'they shoulds' have fizzled away.

Cambodia rolls off the tounge like a big tumbling ball, conjuring new ideas each time. Im still learning.... as always
xxxxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

the steep stair climbthe steep stair climb
the steep stair climb

stairs up to the top of Ankor Wat. One lady burst into tears on the way down, it was really quite a mission!
little boylittle boy
little boy

Tho constantly hassled by children, they are simply adorable. This boy is reading my Lonely Planet book, and made us laugh many times


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb