Siemp Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Untitled Hello again,

As I mentioned in my last Press Release, Phnom Penh was a bit scary. My second day there was not much better. As I sat waiting for my bus ticket, a Cambodia woman was crying unconsolably, child on hip, grunting it seemed, as she was not easily understood by the locals. When the owner of the place (looked middle class) came out of the building, she threw herself on the ground and starting pleading. The lady selling me the bus ticket explained that the woman was trying to sell her baby because she could not care for him.

I can't explain what I felt at that moment. What drives someone to such desperation? Some trivia on the Angelina Jolie adoption in Cambodia....two months after her adoption was finalized, the agency that brokered the deal was shut down for allegedly paying women $100 dollars for their babies....

Kiki and I had dinner and discussed some of this stuff over a bottle of wine. She's encouraging me to go into educational development but I told her that I didn''t want to have nightmares for the rest of my life. Although I haven't processed my Thailand experience, Cambodia and the rest of my trip will be eye opening as well. You want to talk about what poverty is? Ehem.....

The following morning however, on the bus ride to Siem Reap, I met Ly (aka Nicholas). During the 6 hour bus ride he told me about some of the changes in Cambodia. He also invited me to lunch.We stopped at this cafe on the way up-- typical bus stop place but nicer than expected and with clean bathrooms. He ordered one Chinese dish (beef and broccoli) and two Cambodian dishes (Amok fish soup and fried fish w/ the head). I also found out he works for VNC shoe store--(Don''t worry Xiang Yi, I got his email for you!). He talked about all sorts of stuff, like having Dengue fever and flying to Singapore for treatment, his friends and family, his unsuccessful study of Chinese.

And, as this is my second afternoon in Siem Reap, I have become familiar with the streets and visited some great local restaurants including Happy Herb Pizza (Not what you think). I'm feeling much more positive about Cambodia. I'm meeting Lynne and Jim for a bar-b-que dinner this evening.

Tomorrow I will begin my 3-day adventure visiting the ruins of Angkor Wat, which at one point ruled Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. The Angkor Empire spans roughly from 8 AD through late 15 century.

OK, this is all for now.....

xoxoxox....jessica

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb