Solo...the trip has begun


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
January 14th 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just got back from a day climbing & touring temples outside of a little town called Siem Reap. I cannot even begin to tell you how great I smell, BUT (Nikki D you'll like this!) I have a kickin' tan, okay so maybe not, since I'm pretty sure it will wash off with an eventual shower. But the red dirt is SO pretty! Anyway, I hired a driver & a little scooter to take me around today & I toured the smaller temples of the greater World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat. These great Buddhism & Hindu temples are tucked away in the middle of the jungle and are quite engineering feats. Kind of an ancient Incan pyramid combined with a traditional buddha temple. Unbelieveable! Aside from the scores of Korean & Chinese tourists, the temples are very much reminded me of my own Indiana Jones adventure (yes, Kendall my archaelogical dream--you could have been a king's concubine 😉. The temples are peaceful & precise, yet incredibly exotic. Quite amazing feats of a lost empire. The great temple of Angkor Wat is on the agenda for tomorrow, but think I'm going to rent a bicycle & pedal my way along the Cambodian countryside. The people are great here, very friendly. I even played a few games of pool last night was a Khmer woman. And the food from the street vendors is fabulous! And, mom & dad, don't worry I'm tucked away in a very safe little guest house, a/c & even running water. I splurged! 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb