Cambodge


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
November 24th 2006
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Coconut BoysCoconut BoysCoconut Boys

2 boys enjoying a coconut.
I’ve always wanted to travel to Cambodia, but after traveling to different parts of Thailand, Laos, Malaysia and future plans to visit Laos again I feared my bank account was quickly dwindling. So for a while I was playing the indecisive game of going and not going. But then I spoke on Skype with one of the people in my life that I hold close to my heart (my yard duty lady from the 6th grade/old high school counselor/badminton coach /role model) and she said “You cannot leave Southeast Asia without visiting Angkor Wat women!” With the combination of flights going to Phnom Penh on sale from Air Asia in addition to more encouragement from my twinkie, it was apparent as to what I should do, I was going to visit one of the 7 wonders of the world.

Jarrelle and I started our trip early in the morning Thanksgiving Day (California time) with less than 3 minutes of sleep. In line at the airport we met 2 guys (after one hit me in the head with his backpack), one of which we would travel with and the other offering quality advice on where to lodge.

We arrived to
Temple CeilingTemple CeilingTemple Ceiling

No glue, no sticks, no cement, just gravity...
the airport in Phnom Penh to find that getting our visas was not only hassle-free but also speedy. I was especially relieved to find that they had approved my visa even though my passport had mold all over it. Not quite sure of the reaction I would get since this was the first time I was traveling out of the country with a damaged passport (Note to Future Self: Do not go swimming with passport in pocket).

We spent a day and a half in Phnom Penh before we headed to Siem Reap to visit the temples. The bus ride to Siem Reap was VERY VERY bumpy. Our bus driver was crazy but the driver who drove us back to Phnom Penh was crazier!
*Random Tidbit: I just read in the Bangkok Post in early December that they had just discovered oil in Cambodia, so it should be interesting to follow what happens to the development of this country.

In Siem Reap we purchased a 3-day pass for the temples. I was a little concern that Angkor Wat would be like every wat I had seen but it wasn’t like that at all. Every part of these temples
Angkor WatAngkor WatAngkor Wat

Jarelle and I at Angkor Wat during sunrise.
were to be admired and marveled at. The question of “Wow, how did they build this?” constantly replaying in my mind. All of my senses were in awe. My eyes drank in the scenery while my nose inhaled the incense and the smell of urine from all corners of the temples. Some of the temples were so big that at times you would find yourself alone and caught up in the excitement of exploring that you would soon forget the discomfort of being coated with a thick layer of dirt and sweat all over your hands and clothes from crawling on the steep stairs and the formidable smell of B.O. that comes with heat and dehydration.

We spent a total of 9 days in Cambodia visiting the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the big market, orphanage, Angkor Wat, and eating lots of food (I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get to indulge in the local cuisine though but that’s ok since I have plans to go visit again in the future to explore the rest of the country).
ps. I'm writing this blog at 3 in the mroning california time which is 5 in the evening Thailand
Jarrelle and JohnJarrelle and JohnJarrelle and John

After John had a fit and insisted we take a picture of him...j/k
time. Gosh it's lonely being an insomniac.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bathroom SignBathroom Sign
Bathroom Sign

Standing on the toilet has become such an issue that there's a sign. I know I myself sometimes need the reminder.
Check-InCheck-In
Check-In

They always change their mind about letting me check this bag in after I tell them that there's a knife inside.
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Sunrise at Angkor
Bar SignBar Sign
Bar Sign

Funny Sign
Angkor Beer-The National BeerAngkor Beer-The National Beer
Angkor Beer-The National Beer

The first time I had this I swear it had a skunk after taste.
Mixing DrinksMixing Drinks
Mixing Drinks

Bjorn the bartender.
Book BoyBook Boy
Book Boy

This little boy was out past his bedtime selling books. I bought "Stupid White Men" by Michael Moore from him.
Connect 4Connect 4
Connect 4

Apparently Connect-4 is all the rage in the Cambodian bars.
Traditional DancersTraditional Dancers
Traditional Dancers

A performance put on by the local orphanage.
Mange-FreeMange-Free
Mange-Free

The first dog I had seen in a long time that was mange-free and ok to hold. His name was Jo-Jo.
Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

The Grand Palace. Designed to look exactly like the one in Thailand. No joke, you've seen one you've seen them all.
Cambodian TiniklingCambodian Tinikling
Cambodian Tinikling

This dance looks just like Phillipino tinikling.
Man with Booty ShortsMan with Booty Shorts
Man with Booty Shorts

This one's for Gareth!!
Curry Buffet $1 usdCurry Buffet $1 usd
Curry Buffet $1 usd

We went here almost every night. I loved the nanh.
PoolPool
Pool

Jarrelle playing pool. Out of everyone I've played with I am still the worst of all at pool.
StrawsStraws
Straws

The first straws I'd seen in a long time. Thailand is addicted to straws.
Pre-party DrinkingPre-party Drinking
Pre-party Drinking

2 nice guys we met that are from Australia, Tim and Stu.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb