A Cinderella Story in Yummy Yangon


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

14th February 2015
It's a pig face! Just the face!

Heavenly streating!
Asian food with all their veggies, avos and asparagus--for any sane person who loves to graze on these, I must say you're a trooper to volunteer in Kyrgyz. Too bad about your shoe, but it's probably too hot to wear them anyway; hope you don't freeze upon your return in your velvets. I once left my ancient Ugg boots outside a retreat center, returned to find them gone, but a newer pair in their place. Score! I'm rather shocked at the prices--$9 for a temple and $12 for a dorm bed--not the cheap Asia I'd imagined. Oh well, keep eating and reporting on the fab street food.
17th February 2015
It's a pig face! Just the face!

The velvets served me very well!! Spent the entire trip in them, solid two dollar expenditure! Miss the food, and the ability to wear flip flops, already!
14th February 2015

Warmer Climates
So glad to see you have a break in a warm climate. Love to hear more about the amazing race cab ride. We love our time in Burma. There were two earthquakes in Mandalay while we were there. Hope the earth doesn't shake for you. Can't wait to see you wearing the velvety flip-flops in the winter in Kyrgyzstan. Sounds like fun. Those ducks/geese seem to have had better days. Enjoy the world as it is getting smaller each day.
15th February 2015

One shoe..I know what it's like...
but in this case the suspect was my 2 year old grandson. I kept the left shoe in hopes that the right one would eventually be found somewhere in our house. The left shoe came in handy when I broke my right ankle. I wore a large block boot on my right foot and that lonely left shoe on my left. I still have it...hope springs eternal! Anyway, it doesn't sound like Burma has changed much since we were there for Christmas 1974. Have a great time.
17th February 2015

Hi bob, thanks of story, one shoe is such a baffling experience! Did give me an excuse to buy good new runners upon my arrival back in Almaty. Good thing too, about to train for a half marathon!
28th February 2015

Underwear
So glad you "only" lost one piece of footwear and your underwear wasn't stolen and lying on the street for all to see.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb