Musings from Mawlamyine


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

18th February 2015
I climbed anyways, shhhh

Good advice?
I don't think ladies should be climbed either...unless they want to be climbed of course. :)
19th February 2015

I thought it was just me...
"Lizzie and I were confused at best, terrified at worst. We thought it was the Buddha story depicted, and then it all went sideways. We really liked the spiral staircase we found at one point, but really the whole inside experience made us want to drink." I feel that way more often than I should on some travels! Loving your Burmese adventures :)
19th February 2015
Snack time!

So sorry, but so glad...
Ok, so you missed the big Buddha festival, but in my opinion, you probably missed out on being crowded in with lots of people like the lady on the boat, "all about expressing herself with bodily functions, noises, and fluids" and in a scene from the inside of that Buddha. My experience in Latin America has steered me away from big festivals (I just flaked on Carnival) with everyone drinking their liter beers and peeing and falling over everywhere. Hopefully the Buddhists are more discreet than the Catholics, but I think you were better off with the Ogres.
22nd February 2015

Buses boats and tuk tuk's are the way to go in Burma. Sorry you missed the festival but sounds like a good time was had by all. Glad you are embrace the local foods. No telling what taste treats you will find. We didn't make it to this part of Burma so it was great reading your impressions.
22nd February 2015
Hat making in Mon village

Hat making
Nice photo

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb