My dream came true!


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Bagan
October 17th 2012
Published: October 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mt. PopaMt. PopaMt. Popa

Detail
My dream came true!!!

I saw Mt. POPA!

Arrival in Bagan was really tricky because it took about 20min. and 5guest houses to find available room but luck stuck and I had lovely single in the Motel. I set the alarm at 7 (2,5hours more) and went to sleep. But before I started to think about how very tired of travelling (great news for my mum and friends who want to have me closer) I am and how long can I go for. Well the alarm didn’t really work cos I overslept. I took shower, put on fresh clothes and went to the reception area to find out about Popa because I was not very keen in paying 50000 for a taxi to get there.

My lucky star struck again - Austrian couple wanted to go as well and asked a taxi driver who was waiting in front of the hotel with 2Korean on board and asked us to pay 10 000 for return - which I taught was expensive since pick up journey was cheaper so we turn around and how we were leaving he ran after us that he will do it for us our price $10 and we agreed. During the journey I was bouncing with excitement and when I finally saw the monastery all the nice feelings rushed in. I climbed up (30min steep hill and monkeys) and tried to avoid being bitten by monkeys. The climb is done with bare feet so I locked my pink shoes into a cupboard - monkeys could steal them.



The monastery was quite disappointing because I taught that monks would be there and we wouldn’t be allowed all around - there were no monks just locals asking for donations for cleaning (the place was quite dirty) but the views were amazing. We spent 1hour just soaking the experience and then was time to start the climb down. Upon arrival I went for a lunch/breakfast and small walk around and since I had internet in the hotel I couldn’t resist and logged on :-)



The sad part about that was that I needed to check my e-mails and work a bit (holiday no holiday I cannot go dark for a week). I found a message from my brother that mum was ready to alarm the cavalry to find out where I was.

The next day very early start (evening travel to Yangon) and because it was raining and now the sun was too strong we decided to take the horse ride. We negotiated the price and left. Well people say then when you have seen Angor Wat you don’t need to see Bagan but for me this was something spectacular (many temples of Angor dont stand anymore - only rubble) more than 2500 temples standing. Each one was different style, some colour and some different country of origin.

We climbed up on several ones and the views were breath-taking and everywhere you looked temples, smaller/bigger pagodas, stupas and palms ( loads of them). During our visits around the temples we went to an Indian looking one where we got the traditional Thanaka (face paint to prevent us getting sun burned). People who meet us said we look beautiful and wanted pictures with us. At one point we had to stop for 15 minutes until a group of joung people (taking turns with us) took pictures.

We spend several hours going around and then it was time to head back for our respective busses.

Another early arrival later it turned up that finding accommodation in Yangon won’t be very easy and cheap. We checked into Okinawa guest house and this was biggest mistake of my life - nice room but thousands of mosquitos and my 75% deet repellent and the mosquito net were not working and within 2hours I had 40 mosquito bites which were hurting. The only thing I can do now is pray that none of them were infected cos if they were I think this might be the last entry from my travels.

When my Chinese friend arrived I changed a room and this was much better - no mosquitos. Now I look like I suffer from leprosy- have huge yellow bumps over my body which hurt and itch.

After this experience I was out off the city and really scared to go out. But I went for a walk to local market for breakfast, presents and some exploring.

Yangon is nothing special, at least for me what concluded my trip. The Shwedagon pagoda is very nice but I was tired of paying $5-10 everywhere (just because Iam white, I understand that the country is poor but I am not rich either and people who have money would not come to Myanmar so it’s only the backpackers who do not have loads of cash) so I didnt go in, anyway I have seen one too many pagodas and if I have to pay.....

Evening walk to our new guesthouse (I recommend - Cherry guest house 095340623, 098526399, 01255946) and my last night was well underway.

I can say I am happy I survived the trip so far, but first let’s wait another 2 weeks if that is true. During the whole time it was extremely hot (Mandalay 43°during the day, Inle cooler 30°, Bagan 40°) so I my advice is to bring plenty of sun lotion and MOSQUITO REPELENT!

My trip was nice but Iam so tired now that I might need another holiday soon.



I have only 2 works for Bagan - SIMPLY AMAZING


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Yangon Yangon
Yangon

Lady monks in the morning


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb