4000 Temples and Stupas


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Bagan
September 11th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Bagan after a 12.5 hour short ferry trip (7-9 hours by bus I hear). The ride was really relaxing and seeing nature and the people going about their day was nice. We decided we would walk to our hotel from the Jetty, it was only about a km. Sorry but sometimes the metric system is all I have to go by... Anywho we checked into our hotel, 2nd place with air con included for a whopping $10/night. Breakfast is included as well.

We only really planned to stay here one full day and check out the temples and pagodas by horse carriage so that was our goal. The next morning I sadly got sick but still wanted to make the day trip, no sickness is gonna hold me back, well I hope not. So we hired two carriages and I kinda laid in the back of one, trooping it when I could, but again the Burmese like really steep steps. I'm not sure why when the guys are about my height on average.

We went to dinner at Aroma 2 (mentioned in Lonely Planet) and ordered plain white rice but couldn't eat it, oddly Dan got sick in the evening as well so we left the other two and went back to the hotel to sleep the sickness and pains away. We had a 4am journey across the Serengeti, or in our case across the mountains of Myanmar. Queue the minibus for 23 and fill it with about 50 people in and on top of the bus along with luggage and we are on our way at 4:40 am. My friend stayed behind because her journey ended in Bagan, headed back home. The two Israelis got off at Kalaw, 10 hours into the drive, and I ended my day trip at 12 hours at the junction that takes you into town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dique Vegetable Soup...Dique Vegetable Soup...
Dique Vegetable Soup...

what possibly got me sick.
The rest of my meal...The rest of my meal...
The rest of my meal...

I swear I ordered chicken and potatoes and got a bowl and four plates!
Our driver.Our driver.
Our driver.

Since I spent so much time in the carriage he didn't have a resting spot.
I'm sick...I'm sick...
I'm sick...

and I climbed up a lot of steps for this pic, give me a break!


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb