Dinner with a Gigantic Family


Advertisement
Brunei's flag
Asia » Brunei » Bandar Seri Begawan
September 7th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, uncle Yonghuat was supposed to drive me to Bandar to see Emie. But NO0o0o0o it didn’t happen. Emie had to go to Miri today as she had to prepare for UK. B0oo.

So instead, I resumed packing. Auntie Alice took me to Soon Lee so I can buy a bunch of snacks that I want to take home.

I came home and packed and packed. At around 4, Cico took me on a Journey to Kuala Balai. This is basically another village located deep within the Jungle. Well, I wouldn’t exactly call it a Village. It’s more like… deserted houses haha. People go there not because of the end place, but because of the journey. On the way to Kuala Belait, we basically passed by Virgin Jungle. We saw monkeys, hornbills, a mongoose, and even big lizards. It was quite a good trip.. the jungle is so interesting. One day I want to take a stroll deep into the Virgin Jungle. Apparently, there are quite exotic animals in the Brunei jungle including leopards, cobras, wild boars and quite a bit of others. One DAY one DAY!

We got home at about 6PM. La’an (previously spelt Lihin in other blogs) planned to take me out for dinner this night but we didn’t confirm a time. So, I got ready for 7PM. At 7PM, he didn’t come… at 7:15PM.. he didn’t come. I called… and called.. and texted.. I was getting hungry! Then he texted me back saying that he’s in a prayer.. oops hah. I forgot that he was a devoted muslim =). So, he finished at about 8, and I went off to eat at Sentosa Hotel.

Daymn.. La’an has a huge family. He reserved a large table big enough to sit about 12-15 people and I was wondering why so many people were coming. So I asked him who’s coming and he said “my family.” .. uh huh..

This dude has like 8 brothers and 2 sisters.. with some of them engaged/married/has girlfriend. And of course his parents came. Holy jeebus haha. His dad was/is basically best friends with my mother. La’an and I got pretty close too in Brunei. So we had a good dinner consisting of his father putting tons of food on my plate haha. Typical asian =P.

After dinner, I was OFF to Sungai Teraban (Where my grandfather lives). I was schedule to sleep over his house. So, if you ever heard me say that I used to live in a jungle… this is it. My grandfather’s house is located in a village within a jungle infested with animals haha.

It was really nostalgic to arrive in his place. He started showing me things that were there 9 years ago when I was living with him (dart board, remote control car, lighter and even my gazillion year old Air conditioner). Didn’t really do too much at his house that night. Just kind of watched tv, drink tea, and went to sleep (well I tried calling my other friend, but she wouldn’t pick up grr).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb