Christmas In Nepal


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh
February 7th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Orphan Girl & JenOrphan Girl & JenOrphan Girl & Jen

Visiting the orphanage was great fun as we had a chance to play with the kids, hand out presents and join them for caroling
Christmas in Nepal was wonderful! A bit cold, but absolutely Gorgeous! My roommate, Natasha, and I traveled to Nepal over Christmas break to get some visa things figured out and stayed with some of our principle’s friends, Jenn and Leah. We were able to meet many of their friends and participate in many holiday activities.

We were glad to help Jenn and Leah with all their holiday projects and enjoyed the festivities. We helped to make 600 sugar cookies for the Christmas play Jenn wrote for their church (I volunteered to bake the cookies - it was the warmer job 😉) We were also able to help them wrap presents that had been donated to the orphanage nearby. Twenty-one kids were glad to have three packages of toys and undergarments to open. My favorite part that evening was teaching the oldest boy how to throw an American football and make a spiral through the air. We tried not to hit the other children opening their gifts as I was reminded of the days when my Grandfather taught me to throw a football in his backyard when I was a kid.

One of my favorite experiences in Nepal was the
View of HimalayasView of HimalayasView of Himalayas

The best view of the mountains was seen best at the top of this tower (I'm at the top)
night we all went caroling. The church rented a bus and arranged to sing Christmas carols at two local alcohol and narcotic recovery programs for men. Towards the end of the night, we all went to the pastor’s home to carol on the roof. They were kind to provide us with a soup and sandwich combo for dinner while dancing and singing around the fire. Some of the women performed traditional Nepali dance moves (similar to those found in Bollywood films). I was too busy trying to get photographs.

Nepal is quite a bit more liberal than Bangladesh in many respects and I was able to indulge in a couple of favorite pastimes including wearing Western clothes. I borrowed a bicycle and went for a stroll around the area there. I had forgotten how much I enjoy biking 😊 The mountains are incredible to see in Kathmandu. We hiked around the city most of the two weeks. I enjoyed a mocha at a local café (what, no decaf?) and coerced our driver for the day to let me drive the jeep up the mountain on our one night venture outside the big city. We made it to a resort
Christmas Caroling Nepali StyleChristmas Caroling Nepali StyleChristmas Caroling Nepali Style

Nothing like singing praises to God around the camp fire on the roof in Nepal. Cold hands and warm hearts filled this joyous evening.
(I use this term loosely) hotel two hours from the city and stayed a night. Our driver, Pushcar, is the brother and friend of Jenn and Leah. He took us to a lookout spot to view the Himalayas. It's one thing to see pictures of beautiful mountains, but I literally was brought to tears at the 180 degree view of the Himalayas. There were prayer flags lining the little tower and many tourists out picnicking.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

CarolingCaroling
Caroling

Caroling at the treatment centers
Nighttime AttireNighttime Attire
Nighttime Attire

Nepal is cold in the winter, that's fine, but there's no source of heat anywhere! I slept in my newly acquired down coat and hat every night
Christmas Day!Christmas Day!
Christmas Day!

We all have the same fleece from a small shop in Thamel, district of Khatmandu. Christmas was full of cooking, eating and fellowship with other American friends of Jenn and Leah
Bus Ride in KathmanduBus Ride in Kathmandu
Bus Ride in Kathmandu

Natasha and I were crafty enough to find our way to the Bangladesh Embassy across town via the local bus!
Jen at the WheelJen at the Wheel
Jen at the Wheel

I got to drive the jeep up the mountain :)
Biking in the NeighborhoodBiking in the Neighborhood
Biking in the Neighborhood

My camera battery didn't work. This was taken with Natasha's camera, the one with 1/3 the view screen visible


1st March 2008

The Himalayas
I am so jealous. That was one sight I hoped to see while in India. I am really enjoying seeing you pictures and entries. It looks like you are having an amazing adventure! Thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb