What a wonderful place!


Advertisement
Armenia's flag
Asia » Armenia » West » Yerevan
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

Jusat returned from my first trip to Yerevan, Armenia. Wow it was fantastic. nothing like you first imagine of an ex CCCP state. The people were so friendly, lovely climate and just sitting in the local cafe's drinking eastern coffee (turkish coffee), just pur bliss. Of all the countries I have been to this was probably the most different to my first expectation.

I had an image of poor, with the majority being in low class and no middle class... how wrong was I. The country was cultururally brilliant. Even the street traders would try and talk in broken english, semi russian, semi armenian... but a smile translates in all languages. :-)

I stayed in Republic Square... just awesome... it beats most squares in the world... at night you can sit there listening to all sorts of music with the fountains and light completely in tune... unbelievable. It stops at 11 so if you get there make sure you don't miss it.

My travel companion, Vania and I spent the day mooching around, looking at the local markets... shoes and handbags are the things of the day oh and size 0 clothes not much use for most of us!!

We had lunch in a beautiful cafe in front of the opera house... and just watched the world go by... nothing better! We then walked up towards the steps known as the cascades... perfectly manicured but as you get near the top you realise they are still being built... in 2 years time would love to go back and see them finished... beautiful flower beds and stone steps... and as you climb you see the most magnificent views of mount Ararat.

At the top you find the Kaskad monument. Walking across the road which is like trying to cross the M25 in the rush hour you find the archway to jubilee park... reminds me of the parks on a Sunday in Caracus... a place where locals go... where locals dress up. I guess this was the time of reallism... a fair ground... still working but overgrown and obviously not making enough money to survive. Smiling faces though everywhere... wonderful... You walk up to the most impressive statue of Mother Armenia... so significant... watching over the whole city. You are also reminded of the old days with russian tanks and artillery around as monuments... trying
Statue and me!Statue and me!Statue and me!

Outside opera house... a strange conductor!!!
to show where they were???

All I can say is that the two days I spent in Yerevan were wonderful... awonderful place... not busted by tourist just real as it is... just perfect.

Peter


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Mount AraratMount Ararat
Mount Ararat

A bit cloudy!


20th June 2008

The crazy statu is Arno Babajanian, a very famous Armenian composer. This statue is my favorite in all Armenia, because it is so different than the other rigid looking Soviet monuments...it is so lively and full of emotions (locals don't like it so much though, I think they are used to emotionless and "fearless" (and mean :O) looking status. Thanks for your equally lively posting on Yerevan.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb